dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Dance, magic dance

2006-11-16
I woke up at 6 30 am with a raging headache. I drank a bunch of water, and it went away, but by then I pulled something in my neck. So I resigned myself to the fact that I was awake. That's the earliest I've been awake in a long time. Though I have stayed up till 6am recently.
There was another presentation in my literature class today. It was very good (well. It was pretty good. One of the best done so far. But that's not saying too much)but it was about homosexuality through the ages. It was interesting, one of the guys gave a brief history of gay people in China, but I'm missing the part where it relates to literature. Whatever. It was the most engaging presentation we had so far, in terms of people being involved in the discussion after, and asking some questions during. The guy who talked about China is from there, and speaks english with a very heavy accent. he was saying 'concubine' but couldn't connect the order of the letters quite right, and so at first said "The emperor had a male cucumber" and every one busted out laughing. He corrected himself to 'cu-con-bine' and no one corrected him. I like the idea of a male cucumber. Vanessa drew a dirty cartoon to go with it. Speaking of, our presentation is the 30th, and neither of us has any idea what to do. Not quite true. A few weeks ago there was this absolutely awful abysmal terrible torturous presentation that kind of talked about Yiddish words, and a few Jewish people, or something. It was very confusing, no one really had any idea what they were talking about, or what point they were trying to make, or why they picked that topic. It was pretty offensive, too. I'm only half Jewish, and wasn't really raised it, but I wanted to stand up, point a long and accusing finger, and yell "Goyim!!" and stalk out. I didn't, though. Not even when they pronounced challah with a hard 'ch', like chicken. It's soft and in the throat, kind of like an 'h' but with a touch of phlegm. So the point is, Vanessa wants to doa 'fuck you' presentation to them, and do it on Maus, by Art Speigleman. I really don't want to. I have no interest in wasting presentation time with a rebuttal to something pretty worthless in the first place. And while I like Maus, the whole graphic novel art form is not one I like. I have a really hard time following the action and figuring out what the hell is going on. So I'm trying to figure out what to do instead. My dad suggested Wendy Rose's poems, which are certainly good, and interesting, but they're native american, and I am not. And there is a girl in the class who is, and I have a tremendous amount of white guilt that tells me I have no right to present on these things, because I don't understand them because I don't belong there. Maybe we'll do it on the first page of Finnegans' Wake. Wait, that's actually a good idea. I actually really like that. Hmmm. Now I have to try to sell it to Vanessa. She wants to do something she's already read, so that this doesn't create much extra work for her. That's lazier than me. Though I guess in this case you could make an argument for pragmatism. Whatever. I'm doing really well in this class, and I want to keep it that way. And part of that is doing something worthwhile and interesting for this. Meh. Okay, I have to go think something up, and come up with a convincing argument.

Edit- On second thought, maybe not such a good idea. Damn. I need to come up with something.
11:16 p.m.
prev :: next