dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows

2006-11-09
I am starting to realize that I have really fabulous hair. I mean, I've always thought so (oh, come on, I'm not being that narcissistic. It's red, it's long, it's fine and thick and soft and wavy. Of course I've always liked it) but now that it's kind of styled and has some stuff in it, it's really showing it's potential, and I'm reallyizing just how awesome it could be. I am never cutting it short again. The lady at @ved@ said it was really healthy, too. I'm not sure what that means, or how she could tell (or if she was just lying, who knows) but hey. Ah, yes, that was the other thing, I went down there today and bought a bunch of makeup and stuff. Because I realized that the hair is not enough for the 40's look, it's the whole package, hair clothes, face. (Oh, did I ever mention that that's what I was doing? Cause it is. 1940's.) Me and my pal eb@y are working on the clothes, and I went to bartells this morning to get stuff like a round brush, and combs and cotton balls and eye makeup remover. And then after class I went to aved@ and got actual stuff. The saleslady was very nice and helpful, as in, not pushing stuff on me. She was duly enthusiastic about things, but she advised against some stuff that left to my own devices, I probably would have gotten. So I ended up with lipstick, 2 shades of eyeshadow, dual foundation (which is potentially awesome, according to her, I can use it as foundation, powder, and concealer. Good deal. I also sound like I know what I'm talking about. Or maybe I just sound like I want to sound like I know what I'm talking about), eyeliner, medium hold hairspray, and smoothing/shining hair stuff. When I have more money, I'll go back for brushes and blush and stuff, but for now, drugstore stuff will hold me over.
I have tomorrow off from school. I'm going to make a trip to the bank, maybe do some thrift store shopping, and then do homework. More drafting. I'm getting tired of all this. Maybe I'll work on my portfolio some. I need to have it ready by the time I leave here. Which is in 37 days. Closing in, folks.

Addition, several hours later. I just went and watched a godawful show that Jill lit. The lighting was pretty bad, too, but she had very little to work with, and she warned me that it would suck. I thought it was a flamenco dance show. That's what I was told when the job was offered to me. But apparently that was a lie. It was a band of a drummer, upright bass player, piano, occasional guitar, and two singers. And a woman who did a formal stylized type of flamenco danced to 3 of the songs. She was very tall and very bony, with a starvation sternum. The whole thing was a little surreal, and pretty boring. I'm not really the live music type. Unless it's in a bar or cafe, somewhere I can hold a drink, and that I'm prepared for it to happen. But I got to talk to Daryl, the guy who's in charge of the theatre, and that was fun.
Then we left and walked over to Holly's, to pick up my cell phone, which I left there last night (Jill is falling down drunk, and I am the one who lost a phone. WTF?). On the way over, two guys were walking behind us, and said "scuse us, could you put out the cigarettes?" which I interpretted to mean "you're walking too slow in the middle of the sidewalk, pick it up or move over". And so I moved over, and they passed us. Jill was indignant, saying that they should have just walked around us. Well, sure, they could have, but we were walking in the middle of the (albeit, fairly large) sidewalk, and Jill walks pretty slow. If it were anyone else, we would have been moving much quicker. It was a pretty cold night. So I think that while they were rude, so were we, in a way. In terms of common courtesy and shared space, I think we were not in the right. They were still assholish, but that doesn't absolve us. This is I think a key difference between Jill and I. It doesn't come up often, but when it does, I'm very uncomfortable. She kind of has the attitude that wherever she is at any given moment, she has a perfect right to be, and everyone else just needs to deal with that. She's a decent bit larger than me, and I'm a little uncomforable with what I see as her lack of social space awareness sometimes. I adapt to other people, maybe at the expense of myself sometimes. But it's better than feeling like a jackass, like I do when I realize I'm in the way. Eh. Whatever. We hung out at Holly's for a bit, then walked home. And now I'm going to look on ebay for seamed stockings a little, and then go to sleep.

6:56 p.m.
prev :: next