dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

My boyfriend's back, he's gonna save my reputation

2006-11-08
I'm getting my hair cut in a couple hours. Correction- cut and styled. Oh boy. I'm excited. And really scared. Because with what I'm going for, I'm going to have to style it nearly every day. Also, it's a very specific look, and I'm worried about it looking overdone. Whatever. If Chelsea can do her bouffant every day, I can do this. There's less hairspray involved. I'm also nervous because I think it will look good, many people have told me they think it's the right look for me, but many people have been wrong before. I've been wrong before. And what if we're all right, but this person cuts it badly? Eh. It's hair, it'll grow back. And it's not a major cut in terms of length.
After I get that done, I'm going down to school to draft. It shouldn't take me too long, I'm mainly tracing, and adding some details. I also have to sketch a bunch of things. The assignment was to pick a fairy tale, and do some process work, so a point of view statement, scenic breakdown, sketches of the set, image research etc. I picked a story that I like (Sadko the Minstel, a Russian folk tale) but other than that, I don't really have a reason. So I'm having a hard time coming up with a P.O.V., and I'm scared of/bad at drawing, so I've been avoiding that part of it. I sat down and did some watercoloring for it last week, but that really didn't get me anywhere. I painted settings, not sets, so it was just me spinning my wheels. I kind of know what I want it to look like, and I'm just beating my head on the door of premature failure. I don't think my hand can do what my mind wants, and so I'm despairing of it before I even start. Lame. I liked doing the watercolors, though. It's easy to make them look pretty good. The only actual watercolor paper I have it postcards, though, which are too small to do this on.
I emailed a big imprtant designer, he's going to look at my portfolio when I get into New York. I should start doing that with more people. I still haven't heard back from the job, which is making me a little nervous. She said it would be sometime early this week. And today is wednesday. We're passing into the late this week area. I'm not freaking out yet, just getting a little edgy.
Oh, and what the hell? They can't move the A's to Fremont. That's the stupiest thing I've ever heard. And it make sme angry. It's the Oakland A's. With our Coliseum. BART goes right to it, they have their fireworks, and the band of drummers (who, incidently, I went to high school with. They were seniors when I was a freshman) and this is mainly just me hating change. And I understand that we need a second stadium, and that sharing with the Raiders just sucks, but the A's were there first, and as much as I wouldn't want the Raiders leaving (again) I like baseball better than football.
I'm going home for thanksgiving, by the way. Done deal. I have to have dinner with my grandparents and my aunt, but hey, it'll be fine. I can take a little torture. Though dinner with my grandmother always makes me wish I were snaggle-toothed and unpleasant. Then maybe she wouldn't want to have dinner with me.
They're trimming the tree outside my window, and the guy keeps dropping the branches onto the power line going into the house. It's making me a little nervous. Particularly when one of the branches is the same thickness as my thigh. Holy hell, are they preparing to cut the whole damn thing down? Wow. I think I have to close the blinds so I can stop worrying about this.
Okay, I'm done procrastinating. Time to hammer out a P.O.V. so I don't think about it while I'm getting my hair cut. I'm excited.
12:10 p.m.
prev :: next