dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

At first I was afraid, I was petrified

2006-10-14
SO. Today was the first night of tech. It went very well, I think. We started way late (of course) and only got through the first scene, but hey. It went well. I have a few notes, but nothing major. I'm going in at 11 tomorrow, fix a few things, and then it will continue. The lightboard I'm working with sucks, and doesn't track. So say I've got a scene, and there's one 'look' up, and there's little shifts during it, and then I decide that the whole scene needs to be brighter. In other boards, I could change those levels in all of those cues in the scene. This board, I have to go back, and rerecord every cue. Kind of lame. I also don't have a monitor, so I have to keep asking the board op what levels I have lights at. But all in all, I'm pretty happy, and I think I'm doing good work. The world is what it should be. AND I got to go to the Deluxe beforehand. The Deluxe is my favorite bar/grill/pool place in Seattle. My bartender used to work there, until he got fired, and since then (he got fired in May of 2005) I have been there twice. Now three times. I missed it. They have really really good food, and now smoking is illegal indoors in Washington, so I don't feel like washing my hair every time I leave. So I went with Jill and Vanessa and got a burger, and resisted the temptation to get a drink. Brian joined us (he was dropping off gel for me) and that was mildly awkward. He only had stuff to say to me, because he doesn't really know Jill or Vanessa, and they talked to each other, and I tried to talk to both without either feeling left out. I dunno. It wasn't that bad, but I think I would have rather not had him join us. And I got to tell the story of why I'm scared of rabbits. It's a good story. Maybe I'll tell it here someday.
12:12 a.m.
prev :: next