dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

We're on a road to nowhere

2006-10-13
Rough day. Work was fine. Getting up early (and by early, I mean 8 am) is tough (compared to the sleep at 2am, wake up somewhere around 10 that I've been working with) but okay. My official boss was there, and my work changed from "Work on this, and get back to me when you're done" to "Find me a pencil, wrap this wine bottle, put these samples away, and can you listen in on this meeting, just for kicks?" which is fine. Really, I like having a job that I dress for a little, and that requires very little thinking, and that I am decently busy with. So I'm good. But then I was late to the production meeting. And afterward Karen scolded me for that, and she was completely right. I hate being scolded, and I hate that I deserved it. But she did it in the best possible way, just quietly, with no one else around, and not accusitorily. it still sucked, but it could have been way worse. Anyway. Roberta surprisingly enough was really nice and cheerful and all, so that was good.
I also talked to my dad a lot today. I haven't talked to him in about a month. I told him about Roberta, and my job, and my engaging lit class. We had a good time. speaking of engaging lit, we watched The Yellow Wallpaper in that class today (supposedly everyone did the reading of it as well). It's about a woman with post-partum depression whose doctor (also her husband) prescibes total rest for her, no writing, no seeing friends, hang out, no 'excitement' rest. This was the late 1800's. They thought this was a good idea then. Anyway, she goes nuts and starts seeing this woman walking under the wallpaper in her room, and in the end it turns out that it's her, or something (we didn't finish watching it, and I last read it in high school, so I can't quite remember. I should probably reread it). It's good, but kind of creepy, and I identified with her too much for comfort.
Vanessa told me today that I'm a very calm person. Apparently that's the image I present. This really isn't true. But it's interesting how very different her impression of me is, than what I feel my impression is. What I mean is- that's not what I thought other people thought of me. Eh. I'm very tired. I think it's time for me to go to sleep.
12:10 a.m.
prev :: next