dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I'm useless, but not for long

2006-10-05
So first- it's five dollar burger night, and I can't go because a)I have no money, b)Vanessa and Jill can't go anywhere till 5 and c)I have to be at light hang at 6. Fine, Jill buys me a burrito, the world looks okay. Then I get a call form Mike, saying that he's going to be about ten minutes late for various reasons and I realize that he and one of the crew is under the impression that the call is at 7. The other crew guy only thinks that it's 6 because I told him that. Because that's what it says on the calendar. Whatever. We'll ignore the fact that I could have used that time to hang out with my two friends and have a fucking awesome burger. So we start at 7. And I muddle around a bit, and then cut gel. Roberta shows up somewhere in there to check on the process or something, and I take a break and answer some questions and watch how it's going, and Roberta turns to me and says "what are you doing here?" I'm a little thrown by the question, seeing as how she told me to be there the last time I talked to her. I stammer out something about cutting gel, and that she told me to be there. She sort of cuts me off with an "oh, sure, sure, fine" that sounds both defensive and dismissive. What the hell, man! I have other shit to do. She told me to be there. Whatever. I'm kind of tired of supervisors who have no memory.
In other news, walking to school yesterday, there was a breeze, and I was walking behind a group of students, and one was holding up a bubble wand, and letting the bubbles stream out behind her.
I need to get over it and ride my bike home, even though it's up a big hill. And I need to clean, so I'll have room for said bike.
And I'm supposed to be at the call tonight. Which makes sensse, because we can kind of start focussing (though there's no set, so I don't know how much of a point there is to that), but I can rough in some stuff, and drop color in, and trouble shoot anything in advance. It's all going so fast. I really wanted to teach Mike how to use Lightwright some, but there's just no time. It doesn't help that he lives an hour away, and doesn't want to come in early, or on days he doesn't have to. I completely understand this, but it does kind of suck. Like today, when it would be nice to have him go pick up some gel, bring it back, and then enter all the dimmers into the paperwork, so I don't have to. See, it's not that I mind, just that I am trying to hold on to the order of events and all that I learned in Berkeley. And so I want to teach the master electrician how to put the dimmer numbers into the paperwork, because that is what master electricians do. I want to have the experience of being the designer. Whatever. It's a pretty minor point. You know what's not a minor point? That I really need to take a shower now.
10:26 a.m.
prev :: next