dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Underground like a wild potato

2006-10-04
1. My apartment is a mess. This is no surprise.
2. I am sitting here looking at it, and writing about it, rather than getting up and cleaning it. And really, it's so small that it would take all of 15 minutes.
3. My alarm went off at 8 15 this morning. I re-set it for 9 30.
4. At 10, I got a call from my master electrician saying that there is not enough room on a couple of the pipes for all the instruments I have there.
5. I was kind of expecting this.
6. That doesn't make it any less dissapointing, or hard to fix.
7. Why are an orange and a bicycle alike?
8. They both have wheels.
9. Except not the orange.
10. That's still one of the funniest jokes I've ever heard. The kids at camp were amused but I think it might have been at me, and not at the joke. Oh well.
11. This past weekend at juggling, people came up and wanted to take pictures of us juggling around them. We did. I had never passed clubs around anyone before. It went fine, no one knew, and I didn't hit anyone.
12. I've discovered that when you want to do something that you haven't done before, but you're reasonably confident that you can, the best way is to just say that it's been a while, so you might need some reminding, but yeah, you've done it before. This is how I got to do fire poi at camp last year, and it worked again for passing clubs around people. The thing is, with poi, the person most in danger is me, and I felt way confident enough to do it, and of course we practiced before doing it in front of everyone, and it went fine. And with passing, I've passed clubs for years. All you have to do is widen your pattern. No problem.
13. It's kind of like how every job requires previous experience, and there's no way to get that experience. I'm just bluffing to get my foot in the door. I see nothing wrong with that.
14. I have to sketch things for advanced scenic studio. I am bad at sketching.
15. In junior year, one of our teachers explained the Drawing Circle to us, which goes something like- you like to draw, so you draw a lot, so you get good at drawing, so you like to draw etc. All you have to do is join the circle at one of those points, good at it so you like it so you do it, or do it a lot, so you get good so you like it etc. So the joke of the year was "Join the fucking circle!" We all thought this was very funny.
16. It's also actually fairly true. And sucks to be me, but I have to join the fucking circle at the 'draws a lot' point, because I don't really like it, nor am I very good.
17. On sunday I went down to Tacoma and hung out with Jill's sister and nieces a bit. I was sent home with cookies. They are all gone now.
18. The two month old niece cries a lot. Kind of regardless of who's holding her. She was okay with me for a while though. Whenever she cried, I would whisper to her about how it was okay, I understood, life didn't always measure up to your expectations. Was that subversive? I'm not sure.
19. No, she was not hungry, wet, or uncomfortable. I checked. She was just fussy. I hope she grows up to be goth and shock her republican father.
20. Who told me he could never live in Berkeley, he'd go crazy and shoot himself. I don't know how to tell him that he and I have basically opposite politics, so I was just fine, and would he please shut up and not bring up politics anyway, because I really don't want to discuss them with him.
21. I wonder what would happen if I said that.
22. Anne-Marie is moving out to New York at just about the same time I am. If I drive out there with her and a van of our stuff, Jill can't fit. Also, I am fine with moving out there with her, but I don't want to live with her. I don't know how to tell her this either. It would make sense to live with her, after all, I'm probably going to need a roommate, we're going at the same time, we already know and like each other. She definitely can't afford to live on her own there, and I will feel guilty for not filling that roommate position for her. BUT- she's not some one I want to live with. I don't really like her cat, and I want to get my own two kittens, and she doesn't know how long she's going to be there, and I know I want to be there for 5 years or so. She might only be there for 5 months or so.
23. So why not get a place with her for 6 months, and then see what happens? Because I hate moving. And I will leave my stuff in storage for a month and live with my aunt so I can take the time to find a place that I can stay in for a year at least.
24. I'm really happy that I am thinking about all this, and that I'm having to For Real think about it, because I am really moving to New York in 2 and a half months. Really truly for reals. And it is time to start figuring things out.
10:38 a.m.
prev :: next