dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

We're gonna stay at the Y M C A

2006-06-09
Ha! I won something! My mom and I, actually. I would say that this never happens, excpet that at the Christmas party, I won a Trader Joe's gift card. But still. I never used to. How much detail to go into about my day yesterday? Not much. But skimming- Zoltan showed up, we worked, I sat there while he cued, I jetted out of there to pick up my mom. Who had left work at 4 15, and when I called her at 4 35 to say I was just leaving work then freaked out a little. I think I have a much better sensee of how long things take than she does. Anyway, we drove to bart, took bart and muni, got off at West Portal at a quarter to 6. The dorrs for the movie opened at 6, it started at 7. I got to be all smug about how much time we had, and we went and got dinner at the Squat and Gobble Cafe and Crepery. It was fantastic. A little on the pricey side, but damn. I was happy. It was one of those wierd situations, though, where you order and pay, and then sit down, they bring you the food and clear away the dishes. So I put a tip in the jar, and then a little before we left, I noticed that other people had left a tip on the table, which to me is preferable, your 'server' gets to pick it up, and it's generally more noticed that hey, ,I'm not an asshole, I do tip, and fairly well at that. But I have no more small bills or change, so I couldn't follow suit. Anyway, we get to the movie, go in, get a flier and a raffle ticket. My mom hands it over to me after a minute, saying something about "so it'll have both our good thoughts in it' or something to that effect. Less New Agey. Basically, she was going to the bathroom and giving me things to hold for her, and not sounding like "here, hold my shit, I'll be back". But I am convinced that that's when our luck turned. The KQED people stood up in front (oh, right, so my mom is a subcriber, that's how she got free tickets to a preview of Prairie Home Companion. I feel like I haven't mentioned that yet) and talked a bit, and then pulled a raffle ticket out of a bucket. And very slowly, one by one, read off our number. Strangely enough, I was totally unsurprised by it. Maybe it felt like we were just reading along in the same book, but there seemed to me to be no good reason for them to not read off our number. So we won a poster for the movie autographed by Garrison Keillor, Sue Scott and Tim Russell, and the 25 years of Prairie Home Companion book, and a tote bag thing. My mom was very excited. The movie was good. Robert Altman directed it (having loved The Company, I was curious about other things he's doing) and you could tell. It was wierd in some ways, but then, the radio show is wierd. And that's part of what makes both good. I grew up listening to Garrison Keillor, and know his voice very very well. His face doesn't fit it. Even after two hours of watching, it still was odd to have the two together.
In other news, I'm almost done trnsferring Fred's 4637 songs to my ipod. As we speak, itunes is converting them. I'd say about two or three hundred will overlap with my own collection. I'll spend some time today sorting it all out.
I need to start eating breakfast again. I've been skipping it because I've been oversleeping on purpose, but it's jsut not good. It's 11 am, and i am bone crushingly hungry. I think I will eat my lunch now. Though my lunch is not officially till 1 pm. And I bet I'll be hungry then, which means I'll go out and buy lunch, which is bad. Trying not to spend so much money on food right now. Especially since I have a decent amount at home right now. Blah. Pretending to work now.
10:28 a.m.
prev :: next