dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

It's my party

2006-06-08
My boss man has something like 4000 songs on his computer (no, literally. It might be more). So today, I am copying them all. I hooked my ipod in, and started loading them into flash-drive-like part of it, so I can throw them onto my computer and sort through them. Except that I forgot to keep moving the mouse, and so I am now locked out of the computer. I hope it's still loading them. My plan is to see if it says it's safe to disconnect by the end of the day. And maybe call the IT guy. Today will be wierd. I have some stuff to do, a few lights to hang (tomorrow night there are going to be ASL trasnlators, so we have to set up specials for them), but I figure I should wait till I have some one else here to start cueing them, as the board is cranky right now. And Zoltan doesn't get here till 2. Hanging the 4 lights will take, if I walk slowly, and need to keep going up and down the ladder for things) an hour. Maybe. So until then, I am keeping myself busy with the internet.
The weather here is being strange again. It's been all nice and warm, 70's, maybe a little higher in the afternoon. And then I woke up this morning, and it was chilly. Chilly! At 8 am in the middle of June. Cool, I can see. But not chilly. There's sun outside now, but I bet it's the kind that's only warm if you stand directly in it and there's no breeze. I should go outside and see. And read. That would kill a couple hours. And maybe I will go get a smoothie. There's three (four? One I've never been to) smoothie places within walking distance of here. Forunately for me, the closest is the best. I like the guy who runs it, he always makes interesting conversation and once gave me some chamomile tea. I wonder if I looked tired.
So you know the quote from Dazed and Confused- "That's what I love about these high school girls, man. I get older, they stay the same age." Well it's true. Except it's unnerving. Especially when you get a touch of perspective. Berkeley High is a couple blocks away, so if I'm silly enough to take my lunch early, the streets are swarming with them. They all look so young. They all look so desperate to look older/cool/cynical/worldly. And they really aren't, or at least, not in the ways that they imagine themselves to be. Some of them really are smart and insightful and worthy of their pretentions. But a whole lot of others, I look at and think "so that's what people meant when they talked about needing to just enjoy where you are when you are." I think that, and "Your mother let you out of the house dressed like that?" I don't remember girls dressing quite that, ummmm, provacatively when I was in high school. And that was only 4 years ago (so, y'know, I've earned my high and mighty perspective here. Right). Meh. I don't judge. I just marvel.
Vanessa is in New York with Jill right now. Zoltan is going sunday night. I'm jealous. If I weren't running the show for him, I'd be his checked baggage. Too bad you can't ship people. Give me a tranquilizer and put me in a box. I bet that would be a lot cheaper than a ticket. I heard something recently about airlines starting to, or planning to sell standing room tickets. Wierd. For a two or three hour flight I guess that would be all right, but not cross country. I wonder if you could walk around some. I wouldn't be able to just stand there.
So there was some girl in Texas who was on understudy in a play, and told her whole family that she was the lead, and they were all going to come see her, so she panicked and put bleach in the lead girls mountain dew. Wow. Fortunately the lead girl smelled it and didn't drink it. But good god! It was a high school play. Seriously. It's not worth an attempted murder charge. Being me, I put a few minutes worth of thought into how one could make some one sick without killing them. Or them knowing. There aren't many good ways, but ipecac would work. You didn't hear that from me. Anyway. High schoolers are wierd. I don't want to have kids. Rather, I do, but I don't want them to have to live in this world. My plan right now is to adopt. That way I don't add to the world population, and I make some one who'd already in it have a better time. Also, I'm terrified of giving birth. And a little of pregnancy. Granted, I used to be pretty scared of navigating around New York, and now I love it. But I really don't think that's a good comparison here. Anyway. I'm going to pretend to work some more now.
10:41 a.m.
prev :: next