dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

High above the mucky-muck, castle made of clouds

2006-06-02
Today was the production manager's last day. Which is too bad. I mean, good for him, he's going to do other stuff, that he's interested in. But it was sad. But there were margarita's. Work ceases at 4, and we all went out to the courtyard to drink margarita's (they had a couple margarita machines, like slurpee machines. It was great), eat chips and raise a glass for an excellent man, P.M., and friend. Not that I'm all that well connected with him, but we work in the same circles. I like him. I'm glad I won't be here to miss him and compare the new guy all the time. Which is hard not to do, no matter how fair you want to be. Anyway, he made a nice little impromptu speech, people clapped, and we went back to drinking. Good times.
It was also Mimosa and Paola's last day. It's the beginning of the end, everyone's starting to migrate away. Mosa and Brad and I helped (read-watched) Paola pack, and saw her off, then rented West Side Story. It's pretty fun to watch, there are great brief flashes of the Rita that I know and work with now. And of course the great dancing. But it's a lot longer than I always remember it. And my suspension of disbelief is just as strong as ever because I got teary eyed at the end. Yes, feel free to mock.
And what else? I have a 3 day weekend in front of me. Crazy. It does not feel like friday at all. I'm in the middle of a couple projects, and I just want to keep going. Meh. I'm tired. It was a long day with drunkenness in the middle. Christine had a show to run, so she didn't drink any, but we estimated that she probably would have had 4 cups, so a few of us divided those among ourselves. I had about 5 cups total. Not that much, but enough to feel it. All in all, a good day.
11:50 p.m.
prev :: next