dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Fantasies come true

2006-05-31
So I've been thinking more about who I'd rather be, Mystique or Wolverine. Hush, it's not all that frivolous. I've been leaning more torwards Wolverine, and so I put some thought into what I like about them, and all that, and realized- Wolverine is smoldering, sweaty, muscular sexy. very animalistic, very hot. Mystique is cool, lithe, flexible, sleekly powerful. So you could say (and this is my discussion with myself, so I will say) that it's an issue of grace versus strength. Which is a fairly prevalent one in my life. When I did trapeze and circus, it was a constant struggle for me to be graceful. I had the hardest time remembering to keep my toes pointed. But I was strong. I was a good base in doubles trapeze. I think I ended up liking spanish web a little better, because It requires more (and different) strength, and the strength that it develops leads to more of a grace. I've always admired and envied the grace, but been able to do the strength. So it makes sense that I would be torn between the two, but leaning towards the strength. Even though as Mystique, you could kind of be Wolverine when you chose.
Today I was training in to run light board for Glass. But the afternoon show was cancelled, and a bunch of us went out to lunch (I claimed it was a valuable part of my training). It was lots of fun. I love hanging out with actors, and don't get to nearly enough. I cannot imagine doing the same show nearly every night, sometimes twice a day, for three months. Or longer. One of the many reasons I am not an actor. So I'm glad Zoltan's taking a break, and I get to hang out with them for a couple weeks. It'll be a good time. The guys running the show have all got their routines down so well that there's lots of good headset chatter going on.
Random Wednesday-
1 Can't Stand Losing You- The Police. One of my favorite bands. Not onoe of my favorite songs.
2 Hurricane- Bob Dylan. Good. Long. But good. Of course, the first time I heard this was in the movie. And with movie editing, I thought it sounded fantastic. I still like it, but it's lost a touch of the magic. C'est la vie.
3 Fuck and Run- Liz Phair. Back when she was really good. Ouch. I mean- I like this era of her stuff better than the new stuff. That's just me. And I like this song. I have a way worn out tape of two of her cd's in my car. It sounds pretty terrible, but sometimes, it's just the thing to listen to. I stole it from Percy (translation, I asked him if I could borrow it, because my car had a tape deck, and his new one didn't) and he introduced me to her, so she's always a bit of a reminder of that, but in a good way.
4 A Change is Gonna Come- Sam Cooke. i like this. But I really don't know what I'm listening to. Another one of my 'I heard some one mention it once, so I'll download it' songs.
5 Shadows of the Night- Pat Benetar. For the longest time, I though she said "we're running with the shadow dogs tonight".
6 Motel 666- Jonny Was. How ironic that this is song six. Oh boy. Any way. This is Shane West's band. One of their better songs, soundwise. But really, they're kind of straddling genre's or something. Something in their sound isn't quite working for me.
7 Lullabies- Judy Collins. My dad introduced me to her, saying that she was some one who's voice he had admired greatly when he was growing up. I agree.
8 LA Woman- The Doors. Meh. I think I'm not in the mood for it tonight. If I were walking home, or working on a hand drafting project, it would be good.
9 "It's a 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarrettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses" "Hit it"- Blues Brothers. It's on my top 5 movies list. I should watch it again. It's been about 6 or 8 months.
10 I'll Be There- Jackson 5. Oh boy. Man oh man. All of a sudden, I'm back in 3rd grade. Or somewhere around there. I think I have to do do an 11th.
11 You're Just What I Need- Cliff (Bring It On soundtrack). Heh. This is the song on the tape he gives her. I like it. It's just what it is in the movie, and that's all it needs to be. And a good finisher to this list.
I got an email this morning (okay, me and everyone else at work) saying "hey, the literary department just got a huge donation of books they don't really want, come on down". I went to fucking town. It was great. I rode my bike today, so I couldn't bring them home, but I got all kinds of scripts, and a ton of theatre books from the 40's and 50's. My favorite is a stagecraft book. I'll quote from it later. I love outdated theatre books. And one called How Not to Write a Play, and some dramatic theory ones, and a bunch of collections. A plot summary of 100 great plays book. It was great. I have nowhere to put them for the next month or so, but who cares. I love surrounding myself with books. I'm going to move to a fabulous apartment in New York, and build a book for in it. All the walls will be book shelves. Except for where my bed will be, and my desk. But everything else, huge beautiful crowded bookshelves. And I will not move until (if) I get married. It will be fabulous. I can't wait.
11:31 p.m.
prev :: next