dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

We could make him tall, or we could make him not-so-tall

2006-05-22
It's been a while. I've been in Seattle. I actually am still in Seattle. Who knows when I'll post this, but as of the writing, it is 2:15 am, Monday morning, and I am on the futon at Dante's house. I don't know how I feel about it here. When I got in, I felt near physical revulsion. Heart palpitations, constricted chest, headache, distaste. Not that it's that bad. It was even a really nice day; Jill and I got burrito's and went and laid around in Gasworks Park and talked about maybe someday Riding the Ducks (this tourist thing, where you roll around in a boat shaped thing that eventually drives into Lake Washington), and it was very nice. It's just that I'm really truly done living here. And this visit confirmed that suspicion. But anyway- I've been hanging out with Jill every day, which is good. We don't really know what to do, and end up sitting around, or driving around, a lot. I saw the Da Vinci Code, which I liked. As Dante said, they did a good job of making it suspenseful, even though you knew what was going to happen next. I hung out the Vanessa a lot, too. I think my favorite thing of this trip was going to the Spaghetti Factory with Jill and Vanessa, where we played hangman, and made small crossword puzzles. Apparently I am the only one who thinks that Alberta is a good name for a chicken. Best Conversational Moment- (We were trying to guess one of Vanessa's clues on the crossword puzzle.)
Vanessa- Think a combination between a wallaby, and something else.
Me- A giraffe?
Vanessa- No, one that exists
-pause-
Me- Giraffe's exist!
It was an evening of hilarity (the animal turned out to be a wallaroo. Which seriously sounds like something I would make up). Another great moment was when we were hanging out outside, waiting for a table, when I saw, in a large group of people, a man with a shirt that said "Let's Get Physical" and nearby a woman with a shirt that said "Yes, but not with you". I really need to start carrying around a camera.
We also (finally) had a game night, with me and Dante and Jill and Holly and strawberry daiquiris. We played Clue (Dante won both times) and Scrabble (I won, though by a total fluke, I ran out of letters first, and everyone else had to deduct, which meant I won by three. It was a good game). Tonight was weird. The day was weird. Woke up late, ate breakfast (I love other people cooking for me. I will never tire of it) and then hung out watching tv and movies till about 4, when Jill and I decided to go to Alki beach. Where we saw the coolest rainbow ever. You could see where both ends touched the water, and when we looked back a minute later, it had faded down to just one end, and we watched that end disappear, as if it were sinking into the water. Then came to time of Too Much Food. I had already eaten a large breakfast around noon, and hadn't done much, so when we went and picked up Zac, and he was really hungry, we went and got pizza, and I ate a lot even though I wasn't much hungry, because I got double goat cheese and it was one of the best things I'd ever tasted. That was at about 8. Then we went to Vanessa's and played pool (her building has a pool table. I love it. She's my scenic designer next year, I predict many 'meetings' that take place there.) and messed about. Then at 10 30, headed up he hill to Holly and Jason's, where Luke had cooked up dinner. It was fucking great. Chicken in some kind of spicy, lightly tangy sauce, cilantro rice, green bean and tomato salad. And because that just wasn't enough, banana bread for dessert. We played some cards and drank some hard cider. Jill and I left a little after one to go to Jabes' bar. Jabe was my bartender last year. He's awesome. Free drinks, free pool, free bread, free soda. I think that may have been why he got fired from the bar I knew him from. So we went and saw him at his new one, which I loved. Not that the bar itself was great or anything. It was lacking coasters. I like to draw on coasters. But I really like bars. They're noisy, dim and anonymous. You can hang out there, people watch, have random weird conversations, read and not be in the city you're in. Because all bars are alike. They could be in any city. At least, the one's I've been in. So now I feel better about coming back here for four months. I'll have a bar to escape to. Anyway. Jabe gave me two free drinks. I have no idea what they were. I usually ask him to make something up. He makes a great purple shot. I know the first had Captain Morgan, Southern Comfort, orange juice and a few other mixers, and the second was mostly Stoli Vanil.
So to conclude, I really like my friends, they will make living here again bearable. I don't hate it here; I just don't want to live here anymore. I hate how familiar it is. I think I'd like it more if I were discovering it still. Oh well. I need to start playing pool again. When I left Seattle, I could almost beat Jill. I did beat her a few times. Now, I cannot. But I am getting good at long, slightly angled shots. I sunk all that I tried for today.
Jill and Vanessa and I are writing a musical. Maybe. Zac will do the music. We got the idea watching Cannibal the Musical. Ours will be called Space Needle Adventure (there's a certain cadence, that we're making a theme song based on). It takes place entirely in an elevator. The cast so far is Reed (another fellow student) as the hero protagonist, Zac as Guy with Hammer, me as the Obligatory Girl, and Vanessa as Some One Else. The electric slide will be featured. I think it's a horror movie as well. We're still in the very beginning phases. I really want it to actually happen. But I know these people well. But just in case, keep your eyes pealed in about 5 years. It'll be fantastic. And I'm done writing for tonight. It's now 10 to 3. And I am tired. I leave tomorrow night. I have one more day to fill here.
2:59 a.m.
prev :: next