dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Here we are now, entertain us

2006-05-14
Boy oh boy. So you know how I was going to start doing trapeze again? And then didn�t? Yeah. I don�t know that my schedule allows taking regular classes, and I don�t know that I can afford it, but I need to go do it again. Watching last night (which was amazingly good, for the most part. There were some acts in the first half that were still in progress, but they were still good, showed potential and skill) I realized that while I was missing the grace and flexibility, I knew how to do most of the tricks they did. And I know how to strength and flexibility train. I have no excuse for not doing that. And in the next two months, the show will have opened, and my schedule should be more stable. And then I go to camp where I�ll be around the equipment, have people who know more than me around, and two hours of free time every day. I don�t know what will happen when I move back to Seattle. They don�t seem to have many options for it. And surprisingly, neither does New York. I could only find one school/training center there. I thought there would be way more.
So anyway, last night, the show was great. Alexis was good. She did a hoop act and a rope act. Neither were very imaginative, the rope act was very strong, though. I don�t think she�s advanced much since I trained with her. More flexible, yes, and her tumbling id getting better height, and she now knows more rope tricks, but I kind of expected more of a change. The whole first half was the circus school showcase, so it was individual and group acts. My favorite was the single point trapeze. It was one of the most lyrically beautiful acts I�ve ever seen. It flowed well and didn�t ask anything of the audience, no posing, just movement. Up till now I never really liked single point trapeze, because I�d only see it used really low, and as a dance apparatus. There was also a really good
diablo act. Among others. It was all very good. But the second half was about 45 minutes, continually flowing riot of acts. It was fantastic. Extremely well choreographed, amazing tricks, lots of way�s of doing stuff that I�ve never seen before. You know the contortion trick where you do an elbow stand, and arch so you�re sitting on your head, feet on the ground? And then from there, you can stag your legs and balance there, feet off the ground. So you have one person go into the elbow stand, pick up the hoop with their feet, and balance so they�re holding it a couple feet off the ground, and then the other person dives through it. Also this and this Lu Yi is a great mastermind. Too bad it closed today. You all missed out. Go rent a Cirque du Soleil tape. Very similar skill level.
That�s all the news I have for today. I�m done blathering