dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Come on, feel the noise

2006-05-05
Man oh man. SO. If anyone happens to live in the Bay Area, you need to go see Small Tragedy at the Aurora Theatre. Extremely good. One of the best pieces of theatre I've seen all year. In the top three, for sure. At intermission there was this silly woman behind me saying something like "Yeah, I know the world is screwed up, but do I need to be reminded of that? Nooooo. Do I need to go to the theatre and see plays about the world being screwed up? Nooooo." I restrained myself from turning around and retorting to her face, and contented myself with leaning over and muttering to my mom. Seriously- that's why we have theatre. That's why people create it, that's why we watch it, and why it's important to watch it. Theatre exists as a reflection of the world that we can look at from a slight distance, have some perspective, and maybe notice things, and then apply those reactions to real life. No, it's not the sole basis of theatre, but it's a major function/purpose/necessity of it. I get irritated by people who go see shows purely to be entertained. Revision-musicals etc, sure, lots of fun. But when you go to see a play called Small Tragedy, I mean really, what do you expect? Whatever. It was a good play, well written, brilliantly acted, fun to watch. Made my mom cry. And it's not about the world being screwed up. Really. There is mention of screwed up stuff, but that's not what it's about.
Work was been slow this week. Fred was grumpy at me today. In his passive aggressive snarky way. I really like him, and working for him, except that he has his agenda, and doesn't share it with anyone. So I can't ever really make a decision, because I don't know if he wants to wait till something else is done, or the part isn't here or whatever. Anyway, I went and did something today, that I thought wasn't a big deal, and he ended up snarking at me. Lame. Oh well. By the end of the day we were back to being fine.
I have to start working on my classes. I'm taking Classics of Children's Literature, and the History of the English Language. I put off starting until I got approved for credit by my school, but now they've approved me taking outside classes, so I have to get cracking. Which means putting aside my personal reading for now. I'm reading East of Eden, which is really good so far. I love Steinbeck's flow f things. This feels different from other things, it almost a feels a little more like Irving. But with Steinbeck's language. I like it. Then- so I was hanging out with my dad, and we went to a bookstore, and I found a couple things, then went over to the children's section to find Harriet the Spy (which I found) and saw The Neverending Story! How cool is that? I recently saw the movie, in all it's cheesy glory, and have the refrigerator magnet, and so I had to get it. It's a good kids book, so far. A little self satisfied by giving itself an audience, which gets a little tiresome, but that's fairly overlookable. But now I kind of have to shunt them aside a bit to read Alice in Wonderland, and the Oxford English Dictionary.
I was going to do a random Friday deal again today, but whatever. On my way to work, two movie quotes showed up. One was the pig conversation from Pulp Fiction, and the other was "It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses." "Hit it." Sometimes I really love my ipod. And those movies. So anyway- now for the evening random 10. Because now I'm in the mood to do one. Complete with explanations.
1. Dig Me Out-Sleater-Kinney. So I recently acquired a bunch of Sleater-kinney. So far, I like it. But let's reserve judgment till I've listened to more.
2. American Woman-Lenny Kravitz. I like this. It's one of those songs that you sing along with every time.
3. Fireworks-Plain White T's. I get a lot of my music on suggestion. This is from a friend of mine-the only person who I'd really like to date, but don't think I'm good enough for. More on this later, maybe. In any case, this is a suggestion I liked. It's catchy enough without being really bland, or annoyingly stick-in-your-head catchy. But it is fairly generic.
4. Uptown Girl- Billy Joel. Oh boy. I went through about a month where I really liked this song. I'm not sure why. It's not that I dislike it now, just that I'd rather not listen to it.
5.Video Killed the Radio Star-the Buggles. Woo! 80's! All about it. That's all I have to say.
6.Rollercoaster-Sleater-Kinney. Speak of the devil. Yeah, I like this song too. It's looking like they're going to be on my "hey, I know this, yeah I like it" list, but not particularly my instantly-perk-up-when-I-hear-it list.
7.Blue Eyes-Cary Brothers. Good meditative music. Good for listening to while deep in concentration working.
8.We Should Be Taking Our Clothes Off-The Lovemakers. Another suggestion. Off a friends webpage. I don't know. I don't like the music. The lyrics and voices I do kind of like, but not the wannabe techno beatness. That's just me.
9.I can't Help Falling In Love With You-Elvis Prestley. Yeah. This is probably my favorite Elvis song. It's pretty, and rather lovely.
10.Girls Rock Your Boys-Twisted Sister. I really like buttrock like this. Good finisher to kind of a weird list.
So my housemates are having a lowkey cinco de mayo thing in the other room. I'm empted to join, but I have work in the morning. That's my feeble excuse for being antisocial. Really, I'm not quite in the mood to be that social. Even lowkey social.
Speaking of Percy (I know, we weren't, but this is how my mind works) he called me yesterday evening, to tell me about something on the radio that he knew I'd like. He never calls me. I always call. Which is fine, it just makes it really surprising when he calls me. Actually, it was very interesting. Because I'm not speaking to him right now. It was partially because of my aforementioned disgust with him, and partially to see if he'd ever initiate contact, call me to see it I wanted to get lunch or anything. I had a theory that I was pretty much out of sight, out of mind for him. It's kind of nice that that's not true. I'm still not calling him, I'm kind of done with that chunk if life (ie, the chunk that he was part of).
Moral of the story is- Every one need to see more plays. I think the world would be a better, more thoughtful place if we did. Maybe. I'd be able to make a living, at any rate.