dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Girl, you'll be a woman soon

2006-04-24
One of my main objections to dating some one in theatre (and by that, I'm mainly talking about actors) is that it's such an unstable and volatile career. I mean, there's constant ego boosting and buffering and commiserating and waiting to see and who knows why they do or don't get a job. It's too much stress, supporting some one else's dream that fully. Before I put my foot too far in my mouth- of course you support your partners' aspirations and dreams and stuff. I'm just saying that actors (and artists and musicians etc) careers have so many ups and down and so much of that is beyond their control. And that's tough on whoever their partner is. And right now, I don't know that I could carry some one else's aspirations as well as my own. It's come to my attention recently that that same stress is involved in dating some one who applies for schools every a few years. If they don't get accepted, what can you tell them? I'm sorry that place that's really good that you really wanted to attend doesn't think you're good enough, but I still think you're great! I dunno. But some one I know is going through that right now, and I have never been more glad that I'm not dating them (anymore, ha!). Some one else gets to do that now. Anyway, I have no desire to date anyone for a while. Like, until I'm in New York and settled. Before then, I won't be anywhere long enough to establish a relationship. And I have no interest in just dating.
I have been putting way too much thought into Pulp Fiction lately. I watched it a few weeks ago and had a thought about it, and then reread some one's essay on it, and had a lot of retorts to their arguments. I'm debating writing it all up, but I'm not sure it's worth the energy. I got really disgusted with Percy and I'm not quite sure why. I just lost all interest in talking to him, and by extension any in depth analysis of religion and betrayal in Pulp Fiction. It's weird to realize that some one you invested so much time and energy in once you no longer holds any interest for you. I know I should be interested in what-all's going on with him, and his opinions on these things, and it's a little bit of a shock to realize that I'm not. It's a good thing I don't talk to Percy more, or I might lose what respect I have for him and be left with contempt. I think I pissed him off this evening, touched the deeply and weirdly paranoid side of him. And now I've devoted for too much space to him here.
Hey! Trader Joes- definitely this side of awesome. Goat cheese, greek yoghurt, tamales, and frozen spanakopita. And more. All in one place. And cheap. I have, sadly come to the realization that I don't like quiche. I used to, the whole egg and cheese thing is something I'm a big fan of, but for some reason in quiche form, it leaves me feeling like egg and cheese and bad cold hot chocolate. All mixed together. Shaken and stirred.
There was an earthquake last night that apparently was local to my house. I felt it, as did Gretta and Kelli, but no one else. It's not even on the earthquake tracking website. Which is weird, it was a pretty strong one, I think somewhere around a 3.7-4.3. The house only earthquake! Lucky me! I'm a big fan of warthquakes. And turbulence on airplanes. It always seems too surreal if you just sit there smoothly and nothing happens. I like to be reminded that this is real, and that at you're aloft by artificial and flawed means. I don't want to the plane to crash, and I don't want another huge earthquake, but it's nice to be reminded, to not take the smooth ride for granted.
In other happy news, I ordered my fire poi today. I can't wait. I'm a big fire-spinning geek. Or I will be. It's going to be awesome.
11:01 p.m.
prev :: next