dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Whip it good

2006-04-19
I'm sick. I hate being sick. Yesterday it felt like I had lots of dead people hot glued to the inside of my head. How's that for s disgusting comparison? Today's a lot better, took a bath, reading Valley of the Dolls, which I like so far. Considering that I'm about halfway through, I guess it's safe to say I like it in general. Apparently Nyquil has an expiration date. I really wish I'd known that before I took some last night. Not that it was bad, I just woke up a lot. What really sucks about being sick is that you lie there, and read, and feel fine, and then you start thinking, hey, I could go in to work, sure, I feel okay, a little congested, a little headachy, but hey, I've worked with a hangover, and I feel better now than then. And then you stand up, and realize that oh, no, you still feel like utter crap and working is something you could do, but then you'd end up taking thursday off because today would exhust you too much, if you even made it through the whole day. And thursday I'm cueing a dance show. So taking that off is not an option. I like lighting dance better than lighting theatre, it requires a totally different mindset. I'm kind of stuck between the two right now, which is why the drag show took so long to get started. It was a good show, and they gave great directions ("a little bling when drama girl reveals butterfly wings. Then finish it up in true caberet style" etc. These directions are at least as helpful as the ones I usually get, if not more so. Usually people try to pretend they know something about lighting, and so their requests are stilted, and don't make sense. These totally told me what look I needed to go for). I told them I wished I had more time to actually design it, make it really polished. Oh well. I hope I can get some pictures back for my portfolio. I can't wait for the day that I no longer need a portfolio. Meh. Time to finish the book. Then work from home. Because I volunteered to. Stupid.
12:10 p.m.
prev :: next