dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I spent the summer wasting

2006-04-17
So you know how I said starting Monday I'd be good and busy? I am. No, really, despite posting (again. I'm in an updating frame of mind apparently) I am busy. I'm "designing" two shows. Today. Quotes around the designing because they both entail using the plot that's up now, and cueing first a caberet/drag show/I have no idea, and then a series of 7 short plays (10-15 minutes each) with the base theme of the 1906 earthquake (quick plug, they should be entertaining, the lighting will be great (no, really) and if you're in the Berkeley area, I can get you tickets. I think. Or just sneak you in. I talk like people read this). Hypothetically, I'm going to start cueing the drag show thing (also something to check out, some sort of red cross benefit? or Aids? Or something else similarly worthwhile? Nobody tells me what I'm actually working on) an hour ago. Or right now. The schedule keeps changing. I'm guessing we'll start around 2pm.
I drove Connor to school today. I look like his older sister. Except not. Same hair color, complexion, eyes. Totally different looks, but same materials. He told me all about some online rpg that he's playing. He's very in to it, apparently the most people playing at the same time was 384,926. I think. He told me a couple times, so I should know this by now. I'm sure I'll find out tomorrow. The thing that I always forget is that kids amuse themselves. Really, all you have to do is ask a question once in a while (ie, whenever they pause for more than a few seconds), but other than that, they just kind of take off and are fine. There are always exceptions, but it's pretty easy. I always forget that.
I almost kind of miss Raegan, Jill's niece. She was pretty cool, for a shy 16 month old.
*ahem* MOOT! All moot! Well, not all. But the shows just ended. The drag one was great. I wish I had actually gotten to see it. But it was lots of skin, lots of hotness, lots of crazy weirdness, and surprisingly good lighting. We had from 2 to 5 30 to tech it, and we spent about an hour on the first 2 (of 17) pieces. It always takes me a while to get into the rhythm, but then I hit my stride, and all went swimmingly, and then I left, wandered and mooched food, and then at 6, went and lit the other thing. Which was not as good. Mostly boring, though the last two pieces were decently good. I think the topic of '1906 earthquake' was too limiting (ignoring the fact that that was their February topic). Usually they do things like endings, or I'm totally blanking out, but I know there were some good topics, that are loose enough for people to come up with good stuff and be creative around. But put this fairly specific topic in, and people are so tied to it that they either do stuff that is directly related (this takes place during�, feature people talking about�) or is so crazily weird because they wanted it to be arty and 'thought provoking' or some shit. So basically out of 7, there were 2 passably good ones. Oh well. We mighty ones on headset mocked it and played 20 questions with this little electronic dealie. Which, hey, was surprisingly accurate. It guessed my flashlight and Stacey's match stick. It missed Steven's stereo optics (a title of one of the pieces) but I really don't blame it for that. I was pretty impressed. But everything sounded really dirty. Do you hold it to use it? Can you use it with a friend? Can it be found in a school? Is it hard? Does it use electricity? Maybe it's just me and my dirty mind.
When I was free from that boredom, I went and watched the end of the drag show (which I found out was the Gay Men's Health Club benefit fundraiser show). .There was this one guy who could do things with a hula hoop that you've never dreamed about. Maybe you have. But I hadn't. It was crazy awesome and fun to watch. Now I'm waiting for people to leave, specifically Mimosa, so I can hitch a ride. I have to get up at 7 again, which sucks, but tomorrow I won't have to work till 10.
Oh, hey! And the school of theatre paid me! For the one acts! I had no idea I was getting paid for that! Free money! And bonus-recognition of hard work! So even though I'm tired, a little cranky, and my knees hurt, this day has been pretty damn decent. And surprisingly, not stressful at all. Thursday I get to cue a ballet show, and Sunday I get to cue a dance recital with 85 pieces. No, I'm pretty sure I'm serious. This guy teaches dance classes to old people all over the Bay Area, and this is their annual recital deal. A month ago, end of February-ish he did a solo show that was about 20 pieces. So while I'm a little skeptical that this will be 85, I wouldn't be that surprised.
This entry is just going to keep going aimlessly because I'm killing time. So this 7 bit thing is called Playground. Happens every month. This was their last month. In about a month or so, they have their real final thing, some where else, and there are real rehearsals for it, real techs, instead of doing it all in an evening. So the guy who runs it cam up to me and asked what I was doing next, if I was in an official capacity here. I told him I was the electrics intern, till the end of june. He mentions something about trying to assemble people for their final deal, and ow nice it would be to do it with the team that had been with it from the beginning but that doesn't look like it'll happen. Yet he never asked me if I would, or could, do it. Which, had he asked me, I would have tried to. I like doing this, despite all it's annoyances in organization. And the chance to maybe do them justice would be cool. My biggest sticking point with them is that I feel too rushed, and I have to stop caring about them a little in order to just get it done. But he didn't ask, and I don't really want to offer to do it. Meh. Alright, I'm going to track down my ride.
11:56 p.m.
prev :: next