dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

1000 miles to fall down at your door

2006-04-13
So we have this thing here called night/Out, which is a lgbtq (and all other letters) party after the show. What usually happens is there are a lot of people for the first hour, all the women have girlfriends, all the guys are single. Shortly thereafter, it clears out, and all that is left are all the staff, mostly straight, who are there for the food. But hey, there's good lighting!
You ever notice this rash of spelling bee stuuf lately? Lots of movies, one show, books (though I suppose those are more spread out over the last few years). I'm all for it, spelling goodness up the heezy like whoa, but it still strikes me as odd. I also really didn't like either the book, or the movie of Bee Season. I read the book first. The book kind of annoyed me, and then I thought the movie was way too loose. It tried to convey a lot of stuff through suggestion, but didn't do a very good job. According to me. It was too muddled, hazy, indefinite, left too much out. I also watched it on my flight back from New York, which had first been delayed an hour, and then we had to stop somewhere in the middle of the country to get gass because of headwinds so I go home at 4 am instead of 1 30, so maybe I wasn't in the best frame of mind to watch it in the first place. Whatever. I do, however, really like Benny and Joon, which I watched last night. And then I watched the extra section that was basically screen tests with the cinematographer talking over it about lenses and light and filming. It went on a little long, but I liked it. And that movie has some of the best lines ever. I really need to find more opportunities to comment that some countries are defined by their relationship to cheese. Among other things.
I finished my taxes today. Maybe I'll even remember to send them in. I'm really not getting much back, though, so it was just barely worth it to fill it out in the first place.
I wish I could do a back tuck. Just be standing there, and all of a sudden bust out with one. Or, do the running up a wall flipping off it thing. Chelsea told me about making Smelliot do that at a bar for free pitchers. One of these days. Maybe I'll get my twin to teach me this summer. Discursive entry over now.
7:35 p.m.
prev :: next