dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

My lungs are filled

2008-01-23
Been a while. I've been avoiding things, watching whole seasons of stuff on netflix. Like Dexter. And The L Word. Dexter was pretty good, sometimes annoying, but I really like the idea of a serial killer with a strict moral code taking out the trash of society. The L Word was not as good. It was also the second season, as the first is not available for instant viewing, and according to lots of comments, the second season deteriorated into a big sex-pile. I kind of agree. Though towards the end it got better.
I'm being kidnapped today! We finally found time that works for us. So after this I will pack up stuff and get ready, and then John will pick me up, and we will go buy groceries, and then drive up the Hudson. I am excited. It's not a very long time, just the rest of today, tomorrow, and then we leave sometime latish in the day on friday. But it will be nice. We've both been looking forward to hanging out away from everything else, with a good kitchen, and just us. There might be snow, too, which will be nice. It's been pretty cold here, but it's only snowed a couple of times, and only stuck once. And that was rained away within two days. And I'll come back, and there will be money waiting for me. And I can stop being really poor and eat more than once a day. Though I'll still be poor. I'll just be able to buy more food. I'll have to keep food here and use the kitchen, which is distasteful but oh well.
I'm designing the show with the med students again. They're doing Tartuffe, which is exciting. I've always liked that play, and actually designed the set for a high school performance of it many years ago. It'll be nice to revisit.
Heath Ledger died. Which a)hasn't really hit me yet, and b)royally sucks. He was a very good actor, and a quiet interesting person, it seemed. Who knows. A sad thing, but I don't feel like I have any right to be particularly upset about it. It seems selfish to say 'but think of all the good movies he had ahead of him' because the movies are to entertain me (among other people). So I'm deprived now? It sucks for him. And it really sucks for his daughter.
I worked a bit yesterday, first real work I've done in a while. I hung a show pretty much by myself (at least in terms of hanging lights. There was a guy handing the lights to me and such) which meant that I was on a ladder the whole time, first an extension ladder in the house, and then an A-frame onstage. Not very high in either case, but I've been avoiding ladders lately, and letting myself be more and more afraid of heights. So it was pretty cool that I did all that. I was fairly comfortable up there by the end. And we finished everything scheduled with a bit of time to spare.
Onward. Time to get moving. The place we're going has a washer and dryer, and I'm going to be terrible and take some laundry with me. On a kidnapping trip. I know. But I really need to wash at least some clothes, and I've been broke and reluctant to dig up the quarters I would need. Pathetic. Oh well. It'll be fun.
10:53 a.m.
prev :: next