dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I've got sunshine

2008-01-11
Yesterday was a very long day, but good. I basically have my drafting program back, and I got to go by the offices of the company I do fashion stuff for. I want them to hire me as an assistant. Which will be tough, I need to buy vw 12 or 2008 for that and get really good at it. But it was fun to go look at, and they were all very nice to me. I felt welcome, which is unusual for me. I'm realizing that I have pretty big issues with wanting everyone to like me, and suspecting that none of them do. So every evidence that I am liked is very heartening. I should work on that.
I also got paid by a school that I'm doing stuff for, which was really nice. I'm no longer completely broke, and things are nowhere near as dismal. I had lunch with John which is always good, though the service was horribly slow. And then I went and hung out with Naya. I don't see friends enough, and I really like her. I've found that in general the thing people love to say of "it's the people who knew you when you were growing up, those are the really true friends" is bullshit. People grow and change and I either don't like or (more often) simply have nothing in common with people I knew in grade school. Except in a few rare cases, Naya being one of them. We made really good guacamole, and demented burritos (we had no rice, or sour cream, so it was sharp cheddar, black beans, lots of lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and the guacamole), and talked. I talked a lot. About the crappy DC trip and my what-to-do-with-my-life debate. She was good at listening. And we might take an art class together. We watched Knocked Up, which I liked a lot better than I thought I would. It was fun. Alex came home at about 12 30, and we all played with magnets and chatted mindlessly, until about 2 30 when he drove me to the subway. I hadn't meant to stay that late at all. In my head I had said that I would leave at about 10 30 or earlier, so I could get lots of sleep and clean my room in the morning. Oops. Oh well. I got home after 4 and slept till about 11.
And then this morning Lyricus lold me he would be in brooklyn next week and did I want to hang out some day. I have friends! I missed it.
I'm reading Travels With Charley, by John Steinbeck now. I love it. It makes me want to drive. Go on road trips with no exact destination. I like seeing how he writes about things when it's not in a story. He's very good at talking about what he sees and hears. I feel like there's more honesty in his writing than in other similar works. No pretension, no self conciousness. Though it is self reflective.
It was really cold and then it was really warm, and now it's back to being almost as cold. And rainy. Thunder and lightning last night and this morning. I love that. Though I'm very glad I'm not out in it. It rained hard enough for me to not be able to see out the window, which is unusual here.
So, I'm moving at the end of february. There's a very good chance that it will be with my cousin, but that's not quite definite. And rent is going down, in a pretty noticeable way. I could possibly afford to get a decent studio or small one bedroom. We'll see what happens. I'm debating using my deposit as my last months rent. Really, the only argument against it is if it's somehow illegal and I could get in trouble for it. On the one hand, I should just pay the rent, and then I'll get money back later. on the other, she might try to not give it back. Or claim something stupid and keep most of it. She's going to be out of the country by then, so it seems like at the very least I would have to wait a long time to get it back. I need to check the legality, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to go for it.
John's sister got a kitten. She works at a vets office, and someone dumped a newborn, and now it's about 5 weeks old and she's brought it home. I'm going to get to play with it today, I'm very excited.
2:13 p.m.
prev :: next