dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away

2006-10-29
So for the past month or so, I have been hardcore craving coconut fruit bars. So today I finally go and get some, and while yes, they are exactly what I wanted, and are very satisfying, they're small. As in, smaller. Like a quarter smaller. What the hell? I mean, I know that these days you pay 75 cents for a bag of air and 6 chips, but these used to be bigger. Not cool. Dreyer's owes me.
I saw The Prestige last night with Jill and Vanessa. It was good. I did not figure it out until they basically revealed it, though now looking back, there were all sorts of clues. But I'm not really the sort of person that figures it all out in the middle of the movie. I wait and see the whole thing, and then see if I have any questions and try to figure it out. I don't know, maybe this is a sign of naivete, or lack of initiative, though I don't really think so. I think some one once said of me "She doesn�t like to challenge her intellect. When presented with an idea, she�d rather accept the truth of it than critically analyze the concept". At least, I think they were talking about me, that's how it seemed to be directed. In any case, it's partially true. But I would add a comma and change a letter, makeing it 'rather accept the truth of it, then critically anylyze the concept.' I am very quick with some things, but with a lot of ideas, I need to take it as presented, accept it if it doesn't seem to ddiagree with my already-held ideas and knowledge, and then work from there, figuring out why. For a while in college, I forgot how I design. When I was in high school, I wrote everything out, my thought process and conclusions and ideas. Then in college I was being trained in process and resources, and how to draw and I got caught up in all of that, and lost my original method. In the beginning of my junior year, I started doing it again, and it felt like coming home. I need to write everything in order to process it. Then I found a bunch of old papers, and realized that I wasn't discoving my method, I was coming back to it. This is being reinforced by the exploratory and expository writing I've been doing in engaging lit. So in discussion and verbal exploration of an idea I am not the quickest. But it's not true that I don't like challenging my intellect. But this was also said of me during the first two years of college, when I had lost my system for thinking about theatre. I was gaining other systems, but learning a new trick is a slower process than losing an old one. In any case- it's a movie about magic, and you're trying to figure out how it's done all along, but the main point is the people, and what they are or are not willing to give up. There is no good guy, and I like that. It was extrememly well acted and directed, though Christian Bale has a really weird mouth that's kind of distracting.
12:54 p.m.
prev :: next