dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Wheel's on fire, rolling down the road

2006-09-21
Snark snark snark. I'm actively procrastinating right now. Literally. Anyway. This stupid design is frustrating me a lot. I hate doing section work, but this space is so weird that you have to section out every light (for those non lighting people, play with angles and draw lots of lines, and figure out where the lights will go, and what kind of light, based on the angle and the size of the light beam needed. Anyway) and then it doesn't even really matter because you're not going to be able to put lights anywhere near where they need to be, and you'll end up having to fudge a lot of stuff, including stuff that you really shouldn't fudge. Like, the audience is going to notice the difference. And then Roberta tells me I can't use taildowns because it's "too much work" to which I'm tempted to say that I really don't care, that's the master electricians problem. But I can't say that, I have to move my shit around and make it work. Which I was doing until I measured and realized that I was to use mostly 19 and 26 degree lights, and we have barely any of those. We have a shitton of 36 degree lights, but those will flood the stage with so much light and spill and general suckage that I don't even want to think about it. I mean, I guess I can use them, but I wish I'd realized that earlier, I would have fewer areas so that they wouldn't end up being so redundant. But I like the control I've given myself with these areas. And it's too late to redo the areas. I have to turn in fairly solid stuff in about 18 hours. Oh boy.
OH. And THEN. I have this conversation with Roberta this morning (the same one in which she told me I couldn't use taildowns) that went something like-
Roberta- Why did you number these like this?
Me- Well, it made sense, see, it goes left to right, even though the angle changed
R- That's a strange way to do it, why did you?
Me- Well, it makes sense to me, that it stays right to left.
R- Well, when you're looking for work as an assistant, you're going to have to explain yourself, it's a strange way to number.
Me- If I'm working as an assistant, I'll look at how they number things, and then do it their way
R- Soo... Why aren't you doing that now, here?
Me- Because I'm the designer! I get to number it the way it makes sense to me!
R- Well, if you're looking for assistant work, you're going to have to explain yourself.
Holy Geeze. What the hell? Words are failing me right now for how bewildered I am by her logic there. Another thing she asked me about- I have one wash numbered 1-7, and then the next was numbered 11-17. She asked why I didn't go straight to 8. Well, because I wanted to delineate the two separate washes, and this seemed like the best way. But again, just about every designer does that. I know very few who number their channels without gaps. And so in this, I am copying 'another designers methods' and this time she objects. I don't understand how she thinks sometimes.
Whatever. I'm talking to Dante about borrowing sidearms, which will help me get around the 'no taildowns' restriction, and I emailed Brian about borrowing 19 and 26 degree barrels. So maybe this will all be okay with minimum bloodshed. Provided Roberta doesn't question my way of numbering cues. I can't wait for that conversation. Brian pointed out that maybe she's asking these things so that I think about why I'm doing it that way, so that it's a concious choice rather than something that just happens. Which may have been what "why did you skip 8" was about, but the first bit was just her being unfathomably weird.
So for now I'm going to do the bare minimum of what she's asking (ie a map of the washes with a ridiculous amount of information. Seriously, I may as well do a rough plot, since that's very nearly what she's asking for. Yet according to my calendar, my rough pot isn't due till next tuesday) and then doing my plot how I want, and ignoring her. Sad thing, she and I were getting along pretty well, I thought she was making me think about good things, asking me questions that made me think about my design more. But now I'm just bitter. Because the term 'magic sheet' means something totally different in the real world than it does with her, and so I went about pacing myself for a form of magic sheet geing due today, and a rough plot due next week, and that really isn't the case. And so now I have a ton of work to do tonight and tomorrow morning, that I am steadfastly ignoring at the moment. And am going to get back to now. Because I really do like designing, and I like drafting. I just don't like that it feels like I'm doing it for her. Rather than for the show, for my master electrician to have this information, and rather than for me. Whatever. I only have to be here till December 15th. And then I'm done with this bullshit, and I can actually work, where it means something.
6:53 p.m.
prev :: next