dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Sun beats down upon my face, sounds caress my ear

2006-07-16
Today was my day off. That's all. I dunno. I went into town (Willits, population 5,073 [2000 census] as opposed to Laytonville, population 1,133 [highway sign]) and ate a burrito that was just okay and saw The Devil Wears Prada, which was also okay. I read the book a few weeks ago. They were different. And that's okay. I dunno. I'm pretty tired tonight. And I have to pee. And the two together with sitting around typing is not working out too well. Oh well. I feel like I've started to abandon this again, which isn't really true, but it is true that as I get more and more acclimated to living here, the less motivated I am to write. There's also way too much going on, and it's hard to determine what to write, and what to focus on and all that. Meh.
Oh, so one thing, my knees are starting to really die. Like my car. Knees first. I can't run anymore. It feels like there's no shock absorption going on there, and it's just pounding on them. I'm taking ibuprofen every day now. This could be bad. It's just this constant dull achish, punctuated sometimes by hurting sharper on the side, or the thudding if I forget and try to run.
So then there's my car. As I was leaving this morning, some one flagged me down wanting a ride in to Laytonville. Sure. About halfway there, she realizes she's forgotten her keys. So we go back, get the keys, and go there. She was heading to work at the thrift store, and so now because of my kindness and patience, I have store credit there. Go me. Anyway, then I'm driving back from Willits, I stop at a store, call my mom and waste her time with silly conversation, and then drive back to camo. Once I get into camp, where the speed limit is 15 mph, my car stalls. Twice. Fucking hell. It's also doing this wierd rpm dying thing that's pretty scary. But it hasn't stalled in a year or so. And it never stalls twice in a row. I think it's because I was driving so slowly. Point being, I can no longer use it. It's last trip will be driving down to the bay area sometime this summer, so I can pick up the car my dad's co worker is selling me. This is all very ridiculous and luxurious. Seriously. I own a car right now. A shitty one, but I own it. And now I'm just going to, you know, ditch it and get another. How casually american is that? But it does make sense. I mean, my car is now a total waste of money to fix, and I need a car. Yeah. I actually do. I'm driving up to Seattle, and there, I could do without one, excedpt that where I work is 20 minutes away on the freeway, and if I took the bus, it would take two buses and an hour and a half. So yeah, I could do that. Many people do, and are just fine with that. But I really like driving. And I'm already going to be a stressed out student, I don't need to wake up at 5 30 so I can get to work at 8. Or even 6. And now I'm being all defensive to an unseen audience, who may or may not be judging me for my car use. Whatever. I think I am too tired to write anymore.
Oh, but about camp. It's going well. I like the campers. I really like having Emma here to teach aerials with. She's really good at teaching, and very frustrated by Carrie's methods. I think I'm very stoic about things like that. If stoic is the word I'm looking for. I'll explain later. Or not. Maybe the next entry will be more spontaneous and less dutiful.
12:01 a.m.
prev :: next