dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Can't stand your cheering squad, but I love your pom poms

2006-04-16
I went to a roller derby party the other night. Enough said.

Zorro closes tonight. I'm debating going to the closing night party. A week ago, I was complaining that I didn't drink nearly enough for working in theatre. Now, I'm thinking I need to take a break. My score is now 5 nights with alcohol involved, 4 without. Yeah, time to ease off.
I've been trying to get back on the reading horse. I don't know how it's going. I'm concurrently in the middle of The Water Method Man, by John Irving, and The Information, by Martin Amis. Irving, I know that I like. Repetitive, yes, but enjoyable, and not quite brain candy. But this is very much different from his usual style. I'm not sure if I dislike it because I dislike it, or because it's so much different from what I expected. I'm also not sure I dislike it. The Amis, I picked up because I've been hearing people mention that they liked his writing. I think I have yet to fall into the rhythm of it. The problem with picking up random books when you really know nothing other than the authors name is that you don't know if the one you picked up is a good representative of their writing, or if it's good or bad, or what. So then you have to read two. Or more. Maybe I should stop reading both at once.
A few of my campers called me this morning (fortunately, I was still asleep, and didn't answer). I don't want to be rude, and make them feel like their counselor sucks and doesns't call them back, but I don't really want to call them back. I have the nagging feeling that it's also innapropriate for me to call them back. So I'm not sure how to handle it. I'll probably handle it by not handling it, and then they'll guilt trip me this summer, and I'll make up some excuse. Who wakes up at a sleep over and goes "hey, let's call our counselor!"?? And how did they get my phone number? Did I give it to them? I sure hope not. I don't remember giving it to them. I might have given it to a parent. Wierd.
I have the car today. I feel like I should use it. Go somewhere. Is that silly and irresponsible? I really like driving. Maybe I will. The problem around here is that I know it too well. In Seattle, I could just drive and I'd have no idea where I was, and then figure out how to get back. Ok, Jill always drove, minor detail. Here I know how everything fits together. It makes it really hard not to have a destination. I could just head east for a while, but I'm too snobby in a proletariat way to head towards Walnut Creek and Danville. We'll see.
In other news, 8 months till I move to New York. Should I buy my ticket now? No, no, that's silly. But dude, I cannot wait. I'm looking at apartments, which is really stupid because it serves only to make me despair over prices, or despair over the fact that I found a perfect (in theory) lace, and it will be gone long before I move there. Meh.
Any one know what to make with a pound of pasta, brocolli, and a green bell pepper? Other than the obvious of pasta, with brocolli and bell pepper.

12:00 p.m.
prev :: next