dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Pass the dutchie to the left hand side

2006-04-11
Yesterday I sleptfor 11 and a half hours. Straight. This is actually unusual. Normally, I would wake up a lot, and convince myself that it wasn't time to get up yet. It was great. And a little wierd; I didn't think I was that exhausted. So Matt-the-designer (this distinguishes from Matt-the-ex) left yesterday morning early early. I'm selfishly bummed out. I really like working with him. He has a totally different approach to lighting, and it always surprises me how the end result is both better than I imagined (not that I thought it would look bad or anything, it just is never quite what I expected fromwatching the set up) and a lot like what I would end up with (and here it sounds like I'm complimenting myself. I'm not, really, it's just that you have something in your head, and some one goes in another direction and you still think "hey, I liked my idea" and then at the end you realize that they look pretty similar. Justification over.). In any case, he left to go back to New York and work there, and to hang out with his kids. Who sound awesome. Especially the girl, who's 6. (btw, I still haven't figured out how to handle names here. I think I don't care and I'll put them. Right? How much does it matter? No one reads this. I think.) Anyway, lately, Celia is totally in love with books. Can't stop reading, reads anything and is totally engaged. I love this. My dad read to me all through my childhood, and that shaped me immensely, and one of my requirements in some one I marry is that they be willing to read aloud to a kid. And do voices. I got him a book for her (My Father's Dragon, by Frank Gannet) and he was very touched and thanked me. Oh, right, I was going to talk about his lighting. He lights like a puzzle. Like each light is a piece of it. He does this in both how he focuses and how he cues. Everything matches up, and has these specific shutter cuts. Saying it there, it's rather "duh, isn't that how it should be" but he uses it differently. And then he cues with these pieces that he's created, setting them next to each other. He also has a million and 8 subtle internal cues. Lots of 10/20 times. And 3 follow 3 time 7's. This makes lots of sense to me. But I think I'm getting a little technical for all non lighting people. hem. Sorry.
I'm sad I'm not going to be here next season. I mean, it's good, because I'm going to be finishing school, and moving to New York to do all kinds of big exciting projects there. But damn. There's an interesting season lining up. I want to see it. Ha! so I'm going to be driving Tony's son around (the artistic director here) for the next few weeks while he's in NYC (am I bitter that I'm not there? no, of course not) and he was taking us (me, and the girl driving the kid home in the evenings) around showing us the routes and how to drive his Prius (it's fucking awesome, by the way)and I was telling him I was going back to Seattle next fall, blahdy blah, and he says "oh, yeah, I think I'm going to be there in october or something, they asked me to direct Teatro Zinzanni" My jaw drops for a second and then I say something to the effect of oh please please let me follow you around and ride on your coattails please! To which he responds (direct quote!) "Oh yeah, I'll hire you as my personal assistant or something." Holy shit. ME! I get to follow around this well known and respected director and not just see, no no, work on Teatro Zinzanni. Wait, he also said hire. That means I get paid to do this! I love my life. It's not definite, but just the idea, just the fact that it was proposed. Enough to make me go into great giggling fits of I-love-my-life-so-damn-much. Tune in next time to hear about me getting flashed by Rita Moreno. No, really.
10:24 a.m.
prev :: next