dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Back Again

2009-08-20
Holy crap it's been a while. So very much to tell, not enough time/space/interest to detail it all down. Camp was good, mostly. I got there halfway through B and was assigned to a youngest girls tipi, so 8-9 year olds. They were mostly great, though messy. One girl was kind of atrocious, and ended up making me get only 3 hours of sleep on the last night. I understand that she's 8, and little and homesick, but jesus christ, pull it together. SO much of that night was about attention, and she was totally unwilling to help herself feel better. Also, who the fuck cries because they don't like the lullaby? Oy. Anyway. Then C was good, but really rough somehow. Rose, my friend and co-teacher at the aerial site, had a really hard session with people blaming her for things, or getting grouchy at her for things that either weren't her fault, or were things she needed to have done. We were all glad when it ended. Then D was pretty great. The weather was weird, hot then down to about 50, which is verys trange for northern california in august, then back up to something pretty pleasant. All in all, the kids were great, I hung out with some new people, got to see some good friends, ate way too much salad and played on my trapeze. I was getting tired of teaching though, since it's so repetitive. There are so many kids and so little time and it's easy to get stuck teaching the same 6 tricks. We have a book of tricks, and while I don't particularly like how it's organized, and I'm not a huge fan of the person who put it together, it was very useful for reminding myself of other things to teach. So that helped. The acts for the big show were largely my vision as well, which was pretty cool, but a little exhausting. One of them particularly was meant to be a colaboration, and ended up being just kind of sticking 4 different acts together. Oh well.

But the really great thing was that John came out, and made it up to camp for the big show, and got to see everything I've been talking about, and i got to take him to my favorite thai place in the country, which is in willits, and we hung out and watched the skunks. There was a big skunk problem at camp this year, as a result of which i know almost everything there is to know about them. So we hung out at the kitchen and waited for them to come waddle around. They're pretty cute.

The next day we got up and drove down to Willits for breakfast at this really great place. Then back up to camp to pack, and then further up 101 to Hole in the Wall, this really beautiful swimming hole, with this giant cliff on one side that a huge hole has been blasted through, so you can walk to the other side on this little creek. It's one of the prettiest places I know of, and apparently, one of the coldest. John had a terrible time with it, which was funny to me. It was really cold, but then I adjusted to it, and it was kind of nice. John never adjusted. Odd since he's the heater, and I'm always cold when we're on land. After that we went down to the Chief Smokehouse and Laundromat and got a burger and milkshakes, and then out to the coast on a nice windy road. We went to a beach that I really like just above Ft Bragg, and found some nice places to wade around. I tried to convince him to go swimming, since he was still in his trunks, but apparently it was even colder. I couldn't tell. He did get semi used to it, but wouldn't go all the way in. After that we went down to Ft Bragg, to Glass Beach, which used to be a dump, but now has all this nice sea glass on it. And then back over to Willits on highway 20 for more thai food. We wanted to go see this lighthouse on the coast, and it was getting to be evening and so we started calling places to stay. The first was ridiculously expensive, but the second was really reasonable, even for the ocean view rooms. The guy sounded a little dubious when I said that I was in Ukiah at 7 30, and could make it to Point Arena by 9, when the registration office closed. I scoffed, but then we realized what he meant. It was the best, twistiest, funnest road over. But it did take us a long time. We got there at about 8 55. And it was perfect. There was a great soft bed and a jacuzzi, and we could turn the tv, so we lolled around in that and watched a thing about tornados, and then one about lightning storms, and then some Mythbusters before passing out. It was one of the best days I've ever had. It was only semi planned, we did a ton, saw some beautiful places, almost hit some deer, ate all the food that I really like around camp, and thoroughly enjoyed each others company.

And then the next day we got to see the lighthouse! First we got a late breakfast, and I got a burger that would have been great, apples and rosemary in the patty, if it weren't for the handful of salt that seemed to have fallen in. I traded with John halfway thorugh, and even with his massive salt love, he had a hard time. But then the lighthouse! Oh, it was beautiful. I almost cried in front of thefirst order fresnel lens that they had in the museum there. That's how much of a lighting geek I am. But it was really beautiful, and then we got to go up to the top of the lighthouse, which is all empty now that they mostly use gps and radar signals and all that, but it was nice and high up and had a great copper roof, and nice cliffs going down to this great roiling sea. Well. It roiled when it hit the cliffs and inlets. It was mostly blue and kelpy.

We tried to go see another beach that had all these prehistoric rocks all worn down by the tide, but we were there at high tide and didn't want to wait 4 hours, so we kept going to Salt Point, and wandered around there for a while, and then kept going down 1, and then over to 101 at petaluma and down into San Francisco. All together, a most satisfactory way of coming back.

To write about later, hanging otu with Sarah, Monterey, my dad's birthday, hanging out with my parents, my birthday, etc.

For now, time to figure my life out. I'm actually designing a couple shows (!), and I'm not sure how much they overlap yet. There's also fashion week in september, I'm performing a trapeze piece on september 25th (!!) and Snippet had a vet appointment tomorrow. Right back into the fury. Which is better than being bored.

4:37 p.m.
prev :: next