dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Black hole sun, won't you come

2008-03-15
Yesterday started out crappy and ended pretty well. I've been in a lousy mood most of the week and I may be out of it. I was waiting to hear back from the job, which was silly, it would be kind of weird to hear anything that soon, but I was letting it get to me anyway. Sarah was still hanging out with the bartender, and so the irritation about that stayed. I'm losing at scrabulous, blah blah. Etc. The only thing I had to get done was to go down to the theatre where the show I'm assisting on will be and check out the inventory and get a complete list. Chris, the designer, doesn't trust the inventory list that they give out. I called and left a message with the person I would be dealing with at the theatre, but then didn't hear back, and Chris said to go anyway, that it wouldn't matter. It did. She was really busy with other stuff, and accompanied me up the lighting storage and so I didn't really feel at liberty to sit there and meticulously count barrels. I left after about 7 minutes. What a waste of time. The managing director mentioned that they were looking for lighting designers for the festival thing in the fall, and i should send her my resume. So that was good, though when I looked it up I realized it was probably a volunteer job. Oh well. I figured I shouldn't go back to the house right away, it was a nice day if a little chilly, so I went and got a drink and sat in washington square park and read for a while. I'm reading Milan Kundera's Immortality. It's really good and interesting, but going slowly for me. It's a rather fascinating discussion of various ideas and themes, and he's been building up this imaginary world of people, but then people he knows interact with them. In any case. There's construction going on in the park, so most of it was closed, which felt weird. The dog park wasn't, though, so that seemed to be most people's reason for being there. Lots of dogs. Only one minor scuffle. I had been hoping for more.
On my way home, there was this little girl and her dad and brother, on their way home from school. She ended up sitting next to me, and was talking to her dad about books she was about to read. I figured she was about 8. She seemed pretty excited about the reading thing, and was carrying about 5 books with her. So eventually I screwed my courage to the sticking point and wrote a little list (Harriet the Spy, Half Magic, The Four-Story Mistake, and Rascal) and handed it to her, saying that since she liked reading, here were some books I had liked when I was her age. She looked at it and exclaimed "Half Magic! I just read that! It was my february reading project!" we talked really excitedly about how good it was and about others the author had for the next minute before she had to get off the train. It was really cool. I'm so glad I got over my shyness and went for it. It was a really nice feeling.
I got home and bummed around for a while, the good feeling sort of gone. My internet is being really slow and I was getting impatient and irate and finally gave up on that and went into the living room to watch whatever had been left in the dvd player, which turned out to be Gilmore Girls. John finally suggested going to this arcade and bar place that has air hockey tables. I love air hockey, so I figured that might cheer me up. But then he said his brother was driving. Which meant not being able to be grouchy and all, having to pretend to be in a good mood, and putting up with two people smoking the entire drive over. I really wasn't too happy about the plan, but went anyway. I figured maybe I needed to buck up and be social and stop wallowing. It didn't work for a while. But it did. I played 9 games of air hockey and won 7 of them. Playing his brother was fun, he was pretty good, and I got to be fiercely competitive and he didn't mind. I watched them shoot zombies for a while. That was about all that was of interest, so we abandoned ship shortly after. Back at the house, we let the ferrets out, they hadn't been out for a while. The kitten was pretty scared of them and perched in high places trying to keep an eye on all three at once. One of them is pretty sick, seems like he has a tumor and might need to be put down soon, which is pretty sad. It's the nicest one, of course, the one that will dit still with you. He found it in a snowstorm and it was all about coming with him and sitting quietly in the front seat. So that's a shame. But he's at least 4, so he's hitting the beginning of the end of the ferret lifespan anyway.
We decided to watch a movie before I went home, so the ferrets would get more running around time. It turned out that by some stroke of luck, Night of the Lepus was on. John has been telling me about this for a while, and about how the giant rabbits savage the town. I'm scared of rabbits already, so I wasn;t too keen on watching this, but I'm glad I did. It was pretty fantastic. I mean, it's a stupid movie, and there are some plot holes, but it;s pretty well put together. They did a really great job of filming the rabbits from angles that make them seem pretty menacing, and the little models of the towns that they built were great. The ending is pretty Inspired. Not giving anything away, but one of the sheriffs or whatever goes to a drive in movie and says through a bullhorn "Attention. There is a herd of killer rabbits heading this way. Do not panic. We need your help and cooperation. Roll up your windows and turn on your headlights and follow the squad car over there" Everyone seems to take this in stride.
It was about 4 am but the end of that, and while I wanted to stay and see Attack of the Puppet People, I decided it really would be wise to head home. But my mood had been vastly improved. And we made plans for next week.
It's time to get up.
12:16 p.m.
prev :: next