dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

All I have to do is watch you breathing

2008-03-14
A couple times this week, my aim account has been online at 3am. I was worried about someone using my computer. The first time I had left my computer in the living room, so I thought maybe Sarah got home really late and checked her email. But last night it was in my room, closed. And when I opened it, there was the chat box, with John asking if someone was using this account, and only the away message as a response. Clearly, my apartment is haunted. I'm okay with a ghost going online as me. Maybe. Hmm. Or my computer is just weird. But the conversation wouldn't show up on my computer if someone signed in as me somewhere else, right? Mystery.
I applied for a job. I applied last night, and it's 10am and I haven't heard back and apparently I really want this job, because I'm freaking out a little. I'd be good at it. I'm not totally qualified, but I'd be good at it and they should hire me. Or at least interview me. I might have shot myself in the foot, I don't know. The part I'm freaking out about is that they asked for resume (mine is great) cover letter (I managed to write a formal, yet interesting one that conveyed my intense interest in working for them) and salary requirement (I have no fucking clue what I should be getting paid for this). I tried looking up the average in the field, but that was vaguely unhelpful. It might have been helpful. I looked at the few numbers i found, and tried to compensate for the fact that this is a biggish company, I would be an assistant, and this is new York. I realized later I should have said something like 'prefer to discuss this in interview' or 'concurrent with market blah blah'. John looked up official tips on what to do when asked this, and evasive ways of not answering. I don't want to be discarded for asking too low or too high. I ended up putting in the mid $40,000's. Which is about right. I think. Maybe? Re-freakout.
In any case, the happy thoughts thing worked for the apartment, so I'm reappealing for happy thoughts for this job. I would have to take 3 trains to get there. It would be worth it, I think. I'm getting ahead of myself. They haven't called me yet.
Argh.
I need to get up and moving, I have a site survey to do today. I should probably call the theatre and let them know I'm coming, as well. Hmm.
9:59 a.m.
prev :: next