dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Maybe next year will be better than the last

2008-02-29
I'm moving tomorrow. The laundromat was closed tonight, so I didn't do my laundry. I started another entry, but that was eaten by the internet, so there goes that. It was much better written. Or so it seems.
I worked tuesday, wednesday, friday this week. None of those were full days, but they were all heavy lifting and pushing days, and now I'm in a lot of pain. Some of it is good muscle sore pain, some is 'oh, yeah, you really shouldn't have done that' pain. I was working for the Mouse, in their storage warehouse. I had to throw out a huge amount of clothes and shoes. It was kind of heartbreaking, it was all still totally useable. But I couldn't take it all home. I'm trying to get rid of my stuff. I did take a few things, including a bcbg dress that fits perfectly. I can't tell why it retails at $294, but that makes me feel all the more smug about getting it free. I don't think they even used it in the show, since the tag was still on it. The best thing, though, was probably the rolling suitcase. It's the perfect size, exactly what I want to have with me when I get to fly places to design or assist, and have to be there for a week or two. Motivation to get design and assisting jobs. And I stuffed it full of a really weird assortment of things to move. Handy. I'm moving tomorrow. Odd.
I don't feel ready. And I hate that I have to get up so early tomorrow. So I can carry boxes. Heavy heavy boxes of books. Sometimes I think one of those ereaders would be a good idea. Not as satisfying, though. Also, my mom was just in chicago for a conference thing, and visited my aunt who has all my bookshelves. The horrible horrible plan she proposed was that my aunt sell them and send me the money. I don't like this plan at all. They won't seel for anywhere near what I would have to pay to buy the same number. I get that shipping will be expensive. So maybe I find someone who needs a truck driven from Chicago to New York. Who knows. This is stupid. It's been 5 years. She's done some research on shipping rates, and has boxes to put them in. I don't understand the barrier.
Anyway. It's been incredibly cold the last few days. And windy. One of the truck drivers said it was supposed to snow tonight. Which would make moving fun. The thing I saw said mixed rain and snow resulting in 1-3 inches. Of slush. Oog.
I'm moving tomorrow. This is weird. It's sinking in. Funny how that works.
7:16 p.m.
prev :: next