dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Rain rain, coming down

2008-02-16
I have to start packing. And I have to do laundry today. This is exciting. And kind of insane. Today is the 16th. I move on the 1st. So there are 13 days that I have left. Today is half over. Of those 13, I am working 8 days and 2 evenings. Including the 26th-29th. Hmm. Also, my roommate to be has an aerial show the evening of the 1st that I am going to go see with Zina. And I want to paint my new room. I have a whole plan. It involves various blues gradually moving up the walls to a night sky ceiling. And maybe getting Tenaya to paint a tree in one corner. I am excited. I really should be packing and preparing for moving rather than just talking about being excited about it. Bah.
In other news, I am not the best at cell phone decision makings. The upshot? Sprint can go suck it. They keep fucking up my bill and way overcharging me. I called and fought and whined and they were going to give me account credit, and yet here I have another bill. That's nearly the amount of the account credit. Which rightly should have covered about 2 months of bills. But somehow is nowhere to be seen. Losers. So I am hightailing it out of that pit, going back to cingular. They were good to me, with everything. And while it means losing my pearl that I love and use constantly, I will be getting a curve. And that has a full keyboard. So I really have no issues. Except that I'll be possibly losing my pictures. But that's what the email is for.
Plan for today- box up all books. Except the one I'm reading (Hell's Angels, by Hunter S Thompson). I'm waaay ahead of my book-a-week plan, so this is okay. Next, box up clothes in closet. Also, do laundry, and throw stuff out.
I told Leslie that I was moving, and she was a little perturbed that I hadn't told her sooner. But I didn't find out sooner. So she can bite me. And then she asked me to write a craigslist ad for her room, because she is planning on taking my room. It was really hard to write. I ended up with something bland, talking mostly about the neighborhood and the 7 train. I really wanted to tell the truth. But that doesn't really work, because I need someone to rent her room so that I can get my deposit. This is an issue that I think is really fucked up. I paid my deposit to the landlady. I am firmly convinced that this means that I should get my deposit back from the landlady. Apparently, no. I get it from whoever moves in. This seems like a bad idea. Whatever. As long as I get my money back. So now poor hopeful unawares people are eagerly writing back to my full-of-omissions post. I would have liked to write a real ad. It would go something like-
"The neighborhood is great. I really love it. It's right next to a fabulous train that gets you to midtown and connects with everything else in under 20 minutes. Good food, bodega's, it's quiet, and pretty. BUT. You will have to live with a crazy person. Who will either corner you and talk incessantly about her views (which are amazingly narrowminded for someone who claims to be so liberal and artistic) or will basically ignore you while dominating the couch, and thusly making the living room somewhere you don't want to be. The kitchen is small, and said roommate took away the bigger table that was pretty useful for preparing stuff to cook, so it's really not a good place if you want to cook. Ever. There is no microwave. The sotve works, but not the oven. Said crazy roommate also has a cat, whom she doesn't take adequate care of, and overfeeds (so that he vomits next to the foodbowl, and then she doesn't clean that up for 3 days. She also is negligent of the litter box), and who will attack your feet and anything else he can reach. And not in the cute way, either. The landlady is also a bitch who doesn't want to fix anything ever. So, if you are someone who really just wants a room, and maybe is missing dorm life and has even bought a mini fridge and a hot plate, this would be a good place. If you want somewhere to live, and roommates to talk to, not so much. There are so many reasons that I'm leaving."
But that would scare people away. And I want my money. So I trick people into living here. Terrible.
At some point I also get to sort out what's mine in the kitchen. That will be fun. I'm also taking the shower curtain rings. No, I don't need them in the new place. But I bought them 5 years ago, and they have come with me everywhere. So they're sticking with me yet again. I guess I should tell her about that, rather than just taking them and leaving the sad mildewy shower curtain in a heap. I am amazed that I lived here this long. 13 months. Enough bitching.
I am looking forward to figuring out a new neighborhood, living with people I like, relearning commute times, painting my room, and buying stuff at the container store. Oh yeah. Since the room does not have a closet, I need storage-y things. And I need a file cabinet. I get shivers of delight just thinking about wandering around in there. And room arranging. Oh my. I get to play with furniture placement. What a geek.
11:55 a.m.
prev :: next