dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

I said no no no

2008-02-12
It's snowing here. No, like, real snow. Like, snow that doesn't melt the second it touches down. It actually looks like winter outside. This pleases me to no end. It also feels like winter, which is not quite so pleasing, but I'll forgive that, since there's snow this time. I was out in it for a while, and I have to go back out this evening which kind of sucks, but whatever. My hands are really cold.
So fashion ended, and I was promptly very sick. Bear, my boss, was sick during the week, he had a fever for a couple days and lost his voice and looked totally miserable. I think I actually got sick a couple days before the end, but my body was so busy working and being tired that it just put off the being sick until it cleared some space on the schedule. So I got a good amount of sleep and woke up with a sore throat. That progressed into body aching and an exponentially growing headache. John was worried for a while that I had strep, but then the next day I woke up without the sore throat, but still with the feverish body ache and general feeling of utter lousiness. Today I seem to be pretty okay. I was going to take him out for dinner tomorrow night, cleverly leaving out that it was valentines day. I don't think he'll remember, and he would object to going out then. But he usually takes me out and pays, so I figure it's my turn, and it would be a good day for it given both of our schedules. But now it's looking like we'll stay home and cook. Which I'm a big fan of too, so that works.
Someone's shovelling snow out there. That's nice. I realized a couple days ago that I haven't once this winter woken up to the sound of the walk being shovelled. Which is sad. There's something really nice about waking up all warm and covered in blankets, and hearing the scraping noise that means someone else is working and you're not and can burrow down for a little while longer. It's a good sound.
The monologues people are kind of totally clueless about what my purpose is. And instead of being clueless in the helpful way, they're excluding me from a lot. And discussing among themselves what they think for lighting, but never mentioning it to me, unless I ask directly about something I overheard. Also, when I went in on sunday to hang lights, they were having rehearsal. I was clearly expected to work around them. I should have put my foot down and said either I come back when you're done, or you let me do my work now. But I didn't. Like a fucking pansy I worked around them as much as I could, and then waited till they were done to finish it up. I was in a big of a sickly feverish stupor, so I can sort of blame that for my lack of judgement. But not totally. I also realized that I took yet another job without finding out what I'm being paid. I may have mentioned that already. But it sucks. Oh well. Tonight I go in and focus, and set up some stuff on the board, and then leave them to it. I keep thinking it's tomorrow. I'm relieved that it's not.
Think happy apartment thought for me, everyone who reads this. I'm waiting to hear back. Fingers crossed.
3:23 p.m.
prev :: next