dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Elephants, yeah

2008-01-29
Sometimes people are really stupid and uncomprehending. It's worrisome when they're med students. Group A asked me to design for them, gave me all applicable dates, from load in to strike. A few days later, Group B said, hey, our performances are the days before you're loading in, want to design for us? I said sure, I assume it's in the same space, right? Hey, why don't you guys combine budgets, and I'll rent stuff for the whole time, and then I won't have to do a total strike and rehang in the middle there. It'll save money, too. Both groups said, that sounds possible, but how much more will it be rental wise. I called and asked, and it's within reason. I told them this, and then asked for rehearsal schedules, saying I needed to see things before the 1st. Group A wrote back saying great, here it is, show up whenever. Group B didn't write back. Until monday morning, when they said, hey, when can you put up our lights, we need them by this day, also how much will the rental cost, and how do we split that? Jesus. I already told them, I'm working till the 9th, so I can do you on the 10th (hey, look, that fits into your schedule of wanting lights on the 11th, but boy would it have been nice to know those dates up front). Also, what do you mean, how do we split the cost? You give me your budget, they'll give me theirs, and I'll rent you some lights. Jesus. Whatever. Now I'm waiting to hear back (again) about B's rehearsal schedule. I don't think they understand that I really have to place the order on the 31st, and that I really will be near totally unavailable for 9 days. Oh well. I'll bug them again this afternoon.
I stopped by the drama book shop on my way to work the other day, to look through the few lighting related books they have. I found one by this guy I know, who actually helped me out a good deal when I first got here, and it seemed to be a pretty good book, I flipped through it a bit and read the introduction. And then looked at the price. 51.95. Yeah. Not happening. At least not at the moment. I'm really hesitant about spending more than 20 bucks on any sort of book, so I may never buy it. Maybe I can find it elsewhere cheaper.
I'm reading Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell, which is very good so far. I was excited to have started it, since it could be my book to read during fashion, on the train and on breaks. But then last night I sat down and read a bunch, so now I'm nearly halfway through. I don't think it'll last through to the 9th. Oh well. I'm getting close to needing to buy more books. I'm nearing the point of actually having read all the ones I own, which will be very odd. I'll need more shelves if I do, though. They're slightly overflowing as it is.
Okay. Time to go make pro/con lists. And hopefully clean. Oog
11:53 a.m.
prev :: next