dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

And the little dog laughed

2008-01-26
This week was amazing. By week, I mean 3 days. But it was lovely. Fantastic. We got sort of lost on the way, but we made it. It was this little basically one room cabin, with an upstairs open sleeping loft. Downstairs was the bathroom with a washer and dryer. The one drawback was that it was an electric stove, and there wasn�t an oven, but we got by cooking-wise. The driveway was really steep and a bit icy, so we went and picked up massive amounts of groceries first just in case we got stuck down the driveway, so we didn�t actually go into the place until about 6 in the evening. And then we cooked. It was pretty simple, just buffalo patties with rosemary and red wine. We also had artichoke hummus, which went with it surprisingly well. As did the parmesan cookies. John was dissapointed that he couldn�t find ostrich meat to use, but I was pretty darn happy with the buffalo. I�d never had it before, and it was pretty fantastic. We watched random tv. We had sex for 3 hours. We slept. Woke up earlier than we intended, but it was nice. There was a little slanty window in the roof with shutters that we had open, that probably didn�t help with the sleeping in thing. There was a plan to make cornmeal cheddar pancakes, but they didn�t turn out great. Edible and good, but not what I had in mind. We really didn�t do much, it was largely lying around watching tv and movies, and cooking. I made tomato soup and grilled cheese, John made an amazing chicken thing. I don�t know how he did it really, but it was potatoes and onions and a couple kinds of tomatoes simmered for a while, and then he threw in the chicken, and paprika and pepper and some other stuff. I have no idea what all it was, but holy crap it was fantastic. It had simmered so long that it was all tender and falling off the bone, and had soaked up all the flavors.
Unfortunately we were only there one more night, and we didn�t have much time in the morning, what with washing all the dishes and gathering stuff up, but we still got to watch Mystery Science Theater and eat melted cheese on toast and hummus and pita chips and stuff. The drive back was okay, and I read Alice in Wonderland to him, and we had a really good navel orange and now I�m just going into blow by blow idiotic details. But it was really nice. I was so happy the whole time, we were both relaxed. It was quiet, and you could see so many stars so clearly, and there were deer tracks in the snow, and it was warm inside, and pretty, and I felt so wrapped in warmth and happy. And then we came back to the city. And I finally understood what John has always talked about, why he hates most of the city, and how depressing it is. It�s not that bad, but in contrast to where we had just been it was rather painful.
We stopped by his house first, and his mom had read my mind and made tomato soup. I need to go buy more now, I keep wanting it. I played with the kitten a little bit, who�s gotten a lot bigger and her fur is changing color slightly, and then he dropped me off and went to work, and the trip was over. I want to go back so badly. I hope soon.
5:20 p.m.
prev :: next