dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

Non-book year in review

2008-01-09
I know people who have done this survey in past years, and I always liked it, so here goes.

1. What did you do in 2007 that you'd never done before?
Let�s go ahead and count getting an apartment in New York. Shot a rifle. Went to Martha�s Vineyard. Ate a full array of shellfish/seafood and decided that I really don�t like shrimp, but lobster is okay. Paid my own way, nothing from loans, very little from my parents. Bought a computer at a store. Held a ferret. There�s a lot more.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I had to look up my resolutions, I had forgotten all but the book one.
1. Stay in New York- Yes, I�ve done very well with that one.
2. Earn at least half my living from theatre- I made my entire living from theatre. Imagine that. I�m very proud of that, even though a lot of that was as an electrician.
3. Juggle once a week (or more)- Hmm. Started out with this one. Then it died.
4. Work out regularly- Yeah, this one never really got off the ground. But I did do a lot of physical work, and I am stronger.
5. Eat better, along with this, cook for myself more- For the first half of the year, I cooked for myself more. For the second half, I ate better. Compromise.
6. Make new friends here, and not just rely on the few people I already know- Yeah, I did do this. None of them are terribly close friends, but I definitely have expanded that circle some.
7. Have better posture- I�m not sure. Somewhat?
8. Find some sort of boyfriend- Yes. I forgot this was on the list. Somehow managed to do it earlyish in the year, too.
9. See at least one piece of theatre a month- Heh. No. Not too far off, though. Especially if I count stuff I worked on.
10. Read at least a (new) book a week. Scripts do count- Yes. We�ve already reviewed that. I�m very happy with how that came out.

So for next year (or this year, rather) let�s say-
1. Get into a living situation that I really like.
2. Do the reading thing again.
3. Be more organized about financial stuff, look into doing quarterly taxes.
4. Do aerobic type fitness stuff. Right now I�m strong, but not so good with the fast things.
5. Be much more prudent money-wise.
6. Keep better contact with friends.
7. Be less clumsy, injure myself less (as I look at my thumb that I sliced open with the edge of a gobo)
8. Make at least half my income from design related work.
9. See as much theatre as possible.
10. Not feel as guilty about things over which I have no control/am not responsible for.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope. Not that I know of..

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My grandfather, in June.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. Lame. I need a passport. Maybe that should be on the resolution list.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
More financial stability. More design work. More dance-related work. More friends. More cooking.

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 23rd-secured my apartment, exactly one month after arriving in the city.
May 8th- John kissed me
I don't remember what the date was, but when John and I decided to go to Rhode Island to eat pasta. That was one of the best days ever. We were originally supposed to see a lighthouse, and so later he brought me an ivory lighthouse bookmark, saying "see? You got your lighthouse after all", which was one of the most thoughtful gifts I've ever recieved.
Those are all I can think of. I�m bad at remembering dates, unless I make a point of writing them down.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Surviving in New York. Making enough money to make it. Finding John and finally being smart enough to realize what I�d found.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not doing enough design. Not being a good enough assistant when I was one. I feel like I could have done better. Not keeping up with student loans/credit cards as much as I should.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No. In the early spring I had something that rendered me incapacitated with a decent fever, but that was about it. My knees have been giving me more issues lately, but that�s what ibuprofen is for.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My new computer? The bookshelves. Some shirts that I really like, and I would wear only them, but I only have 3.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
I have no idea.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Mine occasionally. Some people that I worked for.

14.Where did most of your money go?
Rent. Food. Yep.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Finding an apartment. The Pogues concert. Various job prospects.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
The Devotchkas song that Lyricus used in As You Like It (that most people know from the opening credits of Little Miss Sunshine).

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder?
Sadder, I think. Last year now I was all optimistic and nervous. Right now I�m depressed about money and the fact that I feel disconnected from theatre and from what I really want to be doing.
Thinner or fatter?
Thinner. By 30 lbs. Wooo.
Richer or poorer?
Poorer. Oh well.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Design. Seeing friends. Cooking. Being outdoors.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Watching tv. Nothing. I did too much nothing.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Me, myself, and Project Runway. Christmas Eve was with John and his family. Both were fun. Christmas eve was better, though.

22. What was your favourite TV program?
Project Runway, Psych, Grey�s Anatomy, Pushing Daisies.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Yes. But I will never have to see or work with him again.

24. What was the best book you read?.
Oh man. Jane Eyre was good. Apathy and Other Small Victories was great. Time and Again might be my favorite. To Say Nothing of the Dog was one of the funniest. A Man Without a Country was one of the most interesting and heartfelt. The History of Love was pretty. Dr. Zhivago had the most epic scope. Bel Canto had some of the most emotional impact, along with Kite Runner. So there you go.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
John introduced me to a lot. But I think it was The Mountain Goats, which Lyricus and Timmy, a guy from Camp, introduced me to.

26. What did you want and get?
A dress from Banana Republic, that John got for me, which was totally unexpected and slightly disconcerting. Several jobs. John.

27. What did you want and not get?
Several jobs. More pretty clothes. Books. Dinner last night.

28. What was your favourite film of this year?
No idea. Enchanted made me happy. I Am Legend was better and not as scary as I had worried. I�m having a terrible time remembering what else I saw. Ratatouille. That may have been my favorite.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
It was a vast improvement on the year before. I turned 23, it was the last day of Camp, I wore a pretty dress, no one hit me with a pie, and there was the feast that night, and then I went home. I had my usual dinner with my parents a couple nights later, which is always good.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Money. If Emily had stayed and leslie had moved out. More design/assisting work. More books. More time with John. Hmm. That's more than one thing. Money. Money would have helped a lot.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Utile. I dressed well, but not fancily or businessy. Casual, but nice. I�ve found that Levi�s 518�s are my favorite jeans, and look great on me. I�ve fallen more in love with tank tops and � length sleeves. I wore dresses more, which was nice.

32. What kept you sane?
John. Work. Both drove me insane as well.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Eh. None, really. I want to be Heidi Klum and run Project Runway.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Politics are turning into a huge joke. It may be irresponsible to ignore them, but I have such a hard time taking all the bullshit seriously. So I ignore it. And borrow Lyricus�s opinions. I know from the past that we�re pretty like-minded.

35. Who did you miss?
Various friends.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
John. There were some other good ones, but he wins hands down.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.
Don�t fuck up.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Hmm. I�m not sure this totally qualifies, but let�s go with the Mountain Goats song, There Will Be No Divorce

the rain fell all night and it kept me awake
it was still falling by morning.
it was hard to take.
and you were sleeping on the floor,
breathing free and even,.
if i ever want to drive myself insane,
all i have to do is watch you breathing
and at 5 AM, i turned the radio on,
and an old mans voice sang a short sweet song,
and then the static roared again hungry for blood
i heard the rain falling from the rain spout
down down into the sweet wet mud,
and you punched out all the windows
and the wind began to wail
and you gathered your hair behind your head
like god was gonna catch you by the pony tail,
and then the old voice crackled through the static.
and i felt young and alive

11:32 a.m.
prev :: next