dragnflytype
kicking ass, maybe taking names for later

step back from that ledge my friend

2008-03-13
So Sarah Jane is sort of nuts. My 'i' key is also sort of stuck, so excuse any typos of that sort. Anyway. Roommate. So day before yesterday, we set out, I want to go to the container store and buy little semi-necessities, she wants to adjust her resume for bartending jobs and drop them off at places around chelsea and the meatpacking district. It all goes well, we find some places, we drop them off, we stumble upon Buddha Bar somehow. I had no idea it was right there. And she suggests that since it's too early for a lot of places to be open (almost 5 pm) we should go get a drink at the Hog Pit and then go out again. Sure, this sounds good, and she's buying. We go and have a stella, and talk to the bartender, who is pretty cool, and takes a liking to us. I like hanging out with gregarious people. Over the course of the time there (till around 8ish) we had a 20 dollar bar tab for the following- another round of stella, 3 shots of various types, two giant stoli raz and sprites. Each. Also, mac and cheese, fries, breaded shrimp, and breaded catfish. Wheee. We talked to various people, it was interesting and all, there was some witty banter or something, someone gave me a hat. I don't remember it all, and I'm too tired to list it all. The point being that the last couple of guys invited us across the street, which turned out to be their hotel bar. Upon later reflection, I think it might have been SoHo House? At this point I realize that we're drinking with the singer from 3rd eye blind and his manager. What? Surreal. I leave shortly after this. I'm drunk and tired, and not that interested in chatting anymore, and she is perfectly capable of taking care of herself, though she's more drunk than me. I am slowly accepting that what other people do is not my responsibility. I go home. I fall into a dead sleep. Around one or 2, she wakes me up coming in and telling me that she got home. Which is great, I'm glad she did. But I didn't need to be woken out of a beautiful dead sleep to find out. I couldn't sleep after that. i took a bath at 4am hoping it would help. It sort of did. I went to sleep around 6 and woke up at 9 or 10. Oog.
So then last night John comes over, and we cook. I made the macaroni and cheese that I always have on my birthday. It turned out pretty well. John made lentil soup. He sortof hated the result, I thought it was pretty good, but I was pretty full at that point. So we have a lot left. I made him watch Finding Nemo, which I knew he would like. He did. Though the disk was fairly screwed up. We curled up and talked and curled until about 4, when he left to go ride his motorcycle in NJ. Though it proved to be too cold, and he didn't go, lacking the proper gear. Meanwhile- Sarah went out with the bartender from the other night. Her (the bartender) boyfriend dumped her after we saw her, so she was sort of a wreck, and Sarah being someone she liked but didn't know really was a safe person to hang out with. So at about 9am, she pokes her head in to my room, wanting to meet John. wtf? Seems fairly innapropriate. And I don't know what to say to her about it, or how to say it. Maybe see if I can get my door to lock. Seriously. Wouldn't you think that your roommate and her boyfriend might not want to be disturbed? maybe naked, maybe asleep, maybe entangled? Maybe you wait till they come out clothed and ready to talk to other people? I don't know. Oh well. So now I'm awake. Not too enthusiastic about that state of affairs. Oh well. Accept what I cannot change. Though I could maybe go back to sleep.
9:37 a.m.
prev :: next